Success & Awards

For information on internal awards for excellence in the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, please visit the Awards for Excellence page.

For information on external awards given for recognition of excellence in biomedical/health research, please visit the Research Awards page.

Congratulations to the following recipients of Collaborative Research Seed Grants (2015 competition):

Activation of the histone deacetylase 8 prevents the ischemia/reperfusion-induced cell death and immune activation associated with kidney transplantation
PI: Sung Kim (Department of Microbiology and Immunology)
Co-Investigator: Alp Sener (Departments of Surgery and Microbiology and Immunology)

Apolipoprotein(a) Kringle V as an Engineered Anti-Angiogenic Factor
PI: Marlys Koschinsky (Robarts Research Institute and Department of Physiology and Pharmacology)
Co-Investigator: Alison Allan (Departments of Anatomy and Cell Biology and Oncology)

Investigating blood brain barrier abnormalities during relapses in persons with MS
PI: Sarah Morrow (Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences)
Co-Investigator: Ting-Yim Lee (Robarts Research Institute and Department of Medical Imaging)

Tissue engineering a resilient bio-artificial cornea for human transplantation
PI: Sunil Parapuram (Department of Ophthalmology)
Co-Investigators: William Hodge (Department of Ophthalmology), Timothy Newson (Faculty of Engineering), Amin Rizkalla (Department of Medical Biophysics and Schulich Dentistry)

Brain Microparticles from Plasma: Non-Invasive “Brain Biopsies” for Improved Neurological Diagnosis
PI: Stephen Pasternak (Robarts Research Institute and Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences)
Co-Investigators: Hon Leong (Department of Surgery), Elizabeth Finger (Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences), Michael Borrie (Department of Medicine), Jennie Wells (Department of Medicine)

Function of RanBPM in the regulation of amyloid precursor protein processing and Alzheimer Disease development
PI: Caroline Schild Poulter (Robarts Research Institute and Department of Biochemistry)
Co-Investigator: Stephen Pasternak (Robarts Research Institute and Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences)