Denise Power Cancer Research Staff Award of Excellence

The Denise Power Cancer Research Staff Award of Excellence

Denise PowerThe award was created in the memory of Denise Power who worked in the Cancer Research Laboratory Program (CRLP) as an Administrative Assistant from 1990-2013.

It honours the contributions of truly dynamic and hardworking individuals working in Cancer Research. Candidates for this award have made significant contributions not only to the research group to which they are affiliated, but also to the greater Cancer Research Laboratory Program and London Regional Cancer Program (LRCP) work environment. All staff members working in the CRLP or the Department of Oncology at either campus of the London Health Science Centre are eligible to be nominated, regardless of whether they are employed by LHSC/Lawson or Western University.

This award may not be generated every year; however, like in past years, we are fortunate to have outstanding candidates nominated by their co-workers to receive this award. They are proven reliable team players, dependable, and cooperative. The work ethic of these nominees exemplifies the Department of Oncology's vision of being integrated, innovative and impactful! 

Nominations are accepted every spring and are vetted by The Denise Power Cancer Research Staff Award Selection Committee, and the awardee is announced at the Department of Oncology's Research & Education Day. Please note, a nominated recipient may only win the award one time. 

Nominate your colleague today!

Denise Power Cancer Research Staff awardees:

2014    Gail Howard, Research Coordinator, Cancer Research Laboratory Program
2015    David Dales, Technician, Chambers Laboratory, Cancer Research Laboratory Program
2016    Peter Ferguson, PhD, Research Associate, Cancer Research Laboratory Program
2017    Carl Postenka, Technician, Chambers Laboratory & Allan Laboratory, Cancer Research Laboratory Program
2018    Dave Goodale, Technician, Allan Laboratory, Translational Breast Cancer Unit, Cancer Research Laboratory Program
2019    Charlene Manax, Research Assistant, Cancer Research Laboratory Program 
2021    Anne Malpage, Clinical Research Coordinator in the Cancer Clinical Research Unit
2022    Morgan Black, Research Coordinator, Division of Medical Oncology
2023    Lee-Anne Pickard, Genomic Research Coordinator, Division of Medical Oncology
2024    Andrew Warner, Research Associate, Verspeeten Family Cancer Centre