Dr. John D. Brown Award

Award Criteria

Please consider nominating one of your residents for the Dr. John D. Brown Award. Established by the family of the late Dr. John Brown in 2012, this award recognizes “a postgraduate trainee in any area of medicine who displays excellence in patient-centred care and reflects the values and practices of Dr. John Brown, who always put his patients first." At $5,300, this award represents a substantial commitment to promoting excellence among our residents in the foundational area of patient care.

To nominate a resident, a letter of support from their Program Director is required. Additional letters of support would strengthen the nomination, and might come from any of the following:

  • Teaching faculty
  • Resident, fellow, or student colleagues
  • Other health care professionals
  • Patients and/or their families

The deadline for nominations to be received is Friday, March 15, 2024.

Nomination packages will be considered by the Postgraduate Awards Committee in April, and a recipient selected for presentation at the annual Schulich Awards of Excellence event in May.

All applications should be e-mailed in electronic format to the PGME office to postgraduate.medicine@schulich.uwo.ca

2024 Recipient - Dr. Tamoor Afzaal, Gastroenterology

2023 Recipient - Dr. Mohammed Alsager, Gastroenterology

2022 Recipient - Dr. Kyle Fiorini, Critial Care Medicine

2021 Recipient - Dr. Lauren Riggin, Psychiatry

2020 Recipient - Dr. Amanda Grant-Orser, Respirology

2019 Recipient - Dr. Ali Bateman, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

2018 Recipient - Dr. Ayaaz Sachedina, Cardiology

2017 Recipient - Dr. Spencer Lalonde, Internal Medicine

2016 Recipient - Dr. Julie Hukui, Paediatrics

2015 Recipient - Dr. Heather Emmerton-Coughlin, General Surgery

2014 Recipient - Dr. Adam Maruscak, General Surgery

2013 Recipient - Dr. Ana Igric, General Surgery