Annual Farewell Dinner / Celebration Night

This year’s celebration was held on June 15, 2019 at Westhaven Golf and Country Club with 130 guests in attendance. 

Dr. Anita Cave did a very entertaining presentation for each graduating PGY5, including Drs. Lukas Brown, Matthew Chong, Terrence Leeper, Natalie Melton, Kiarash Mohajer, Bethany Oeming, Zameer Pirani and Takis Tryphonopoulos.  The departing Fellows were also acknowledged - Drs. Ranjana Bairagi, Murray Campbell, Fuhazia Horner, Danielle Lapierre, Niveditha Karuppiah, Georgina Mahony, Shaqayeg Marashi, Mathilde St. Pierre, Yahui Tammy Symons, Aldo Espinosa Tadeo, Magda Terlecki, Carla Todaro.


A variety of awards were presented at the dinner

  • Rooney Gverzdys Award for Resident Teacher of the Year - Dr. Hesham Youssef
  • UME Teacher of the Year – Dr. Sonja Payne
  • Fellow Teacher of the Year – Dr. Hilda Alfaro
  • Pain Medicine Teacher of the Year – Dr. Manikandan Rajarathinam
  • Faculty Teacher of the Year – Dr. Sonja Payne
  • Faculty Mentor of the Year – Dr. Kristine Marmai
  • Resident Research Award – Dr. Jillian Belrose
  • Resident as Mentor Award – Dr. Zach Davidson
  • Resident as Teacher Award – Dr. Terrence Leeper

Dr. Daniel Cuillerier, who retired on December 31st, 2018 after 27 years of dedicated service to the department, was a special guest and presented with a plaque by Dr. Chris Harle.  We all wish Dan a happy, healthy and well-deserved retirement!  He will be missed!

Drs. Ramiro Arellano, Ian McConachie and Ramesh Sai, who have recently resigned to pursue other opportunities, were thanked for their contributions to the department and wished well.   

Christine White recently retired after many years with the department.  Her excellent administrative support was acknowledged by Dr. Mohamad Ahmad and on behalf of the department he wished her a very happy retirement.

Dr. Homer Yang announced this year’s staff promotions:  Dr. Phil Jones, Professor and Dr. Jon Brookes, Associate Professor.