Dr. Geoff Bellingham receives 2014-15 AMOSO AFP Innovation Fund

The Department is very proud to announce that Dr. Geoff Bellingham, our newly established Pain Medicine Residency program director, will be receiving up to $144,602 over two years to continue with his research project titled, "Development of an Innovative Opioid Safety program in Pain Clinics (op-safe): A Multi Centre Project."

The provincial AFP Innovation Fund is a competition held annually by AMOSO, or Academic Medical Organization of Southwestern Ontario, which is the governing body for the London Ontario Academic Health Science Centre (AHSC) Alternate Funding Plan (AFP) contract.

The AFP Innovation Fund supports the development of new and innovative practices in health care delivery, and leadership and the disseminations of knowledge across the healthcare system.

Eligibility of this funding includes but is not limited to patient education and enablement; continuity of care; process improvement models to improve efficiencies, patient safety and quality of care; support/collaboration fro AHSCs to community hospitals, LHINs and other services in their region; remote access to care; knowledge transfer across AHSCs and the broader health care system.

Congratulations Dr. Bellingham for receiving this award!!

Previous winners from our Department include

  • Dr. Valerie Schulz (2012-2014). Palliative Care on the Heart Failure Team: Mapping Patient and Provider Experiences and Expectations. [$143,587]
  • Dr. John Fuller (2012-2013). Applying the Evidence in Perioperative Medicine: Changing Admission Criteria for Surgical Patients with Sleep Apnea. [$55,000]
  • Dr. Janet Martin & Dr. Davy Cheng (2011-2013). Integrating Vision Care into the MEDICI Framework (Medical Evidence, Decision Integrity and Clinical Impact) [$181,281]