Surgery Clerkship Teaching Awards

At the end of their surgery clerkship, clerks have the opportunity to nominate the faculty and resident teachers who have made a positive impact on their learning. The Surgery Clerkship Teaching Awards are voted by the clinical clerks in recognition of outstanding faculty and resident teaching at both the London and Windsor sites. 

Award Winners for the 2023-2024 Clerkship

Overall Division Awards

Cardiac Surgery
Residents: Dr. Fadi Hage
Faculty: Dr. Dave Nagpal

General Surgery
Resident: Dr. Chris Zhang
Faculty: Dr. Patrick Colquhoun

Orthopaedic Surgery
Resident: Dr. Brandon Herrington
Faculty: Dr. Assaf Kadar and Dr. Kevin Morash

Paediatric Surgery
Faculty: Dr. Natashia Seemann

Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery
Resident: Dr. Valera Castanov
Faculty: Dr. Andrew Simpson

Thoracic Surgery
Faculty: Dr. Mehdi Qiabi

Resident: Dr. Victoria Turnbull
Faculty: Dr. Melissa Huynh

Vascular Surgery
Resident: Dr. Rhiannon Tracey
Faculty: Dr. Shane Smith

London Surgery Clerkship Faculty Award for Excellence in Surgical Education

Dr. Andrew Simpson

Dr. Murray Girotti Teaching Award

Dr. Chris Zhang

Community General Surgery Faculty Award for Excellence in Surgical Education

Dr. Rob Black, St. Thomas

Overall Selective Departmental Winners

Resident: Dr. Amirti Vivekanandan

Faculty: Dr. Yiannis Iordanous

Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
Resident: Dr. Sarah Zahabi
Faculty: Dr. Josee Paradis

Outstanding Allied Health Professional Teachers in London

Ashley Ahuja (Nurse Practitioner, General Surgery Ward – UH
Sonia Carey (Nurse, Paediatric General Surgery Ward – VH)

Windsor Surgery Clerkship Faculty Award for Excellence in Surgical Education

Dr. Tom Deklaj, Urology

Overall Division Award Winners per Windsor Service

General Surgery
Faculty: Dr. Takeshi Takahashi

Orthopaedic Surgery
Faculty: Dr. Stuart Bisland

Faculty: Dr. Tom Deklaj

Outstanding Allied Health Professional Teacher in Windsor

Joanne Rondeau, General Surgery Perioperative Nurse