The Department of Surgery is the second largest Department in the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry at Western University, and consists of eight Divisions, of which seven have postgraduate training programs. Home to 88 full-time Clinical Academics, six Basic Scientists and five Institute Scientists, the Department of Surgery is known as one of the strongest surgical training programs in Canada.