Mission, Vision, and Values 2018



Delivery of safe, effective and integrated surgical care that elevates the health and well-being of patients regionally and globally through discovery, education and innovation


International leadership in forming the future of surgical care, research, and education


  • Excellence: to exceed the highest measurable standards of quality in patient care
  • Innovation: to foster creative and novel solutions to complex surgical issues
  • Scholarship: to coalesce the brightest minds to advance interdisciplinary research
  • Education: to lead nationally and globally in surgical training
  • Collaboration: to build partnerships locally, regionally, nationally, and internationally
  • Respect: to treat every individual with the highest level of professionalism, understanding, compassion, and dignity
  • Inclusiveness: to appreciate and value cultural and social diversity
  • Integrity: to build trust through open and honest communication and social responsibility
  • Efficiency: to optimize access and delivery of surgical care as an accountable, prudent steward of public resources


Divisions and Programs

The Department of Surgery has over 100 surgeons and scientists, one basic science graduate degree program, and seven Royal College academic training programs; enrolling over 160 trainees at various levels. The Department is comprised of eight Divisions: Cardiac Surgery, General Surgery, Orthopaedic Surgery, Paediatric Surgery, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, Thoracic Surgery, Vascular Surgery, and Urology. Notwithstanding Paediatric Surgery, each Division has an active post-graduate residency training program. In addition there are four sub-units tied to one or more Divisions: The Hand and Upper Limb Centre (HULC) based at St. Joseph’s Health Care, London; the Multi-Organ Transplant Program based at University Hospital; the Fowler Kennedy Sports Medicine Clinic based on Western’s campus; and the Trauma Program based at Victoria Hospital.