Celebrating your recent achievements

Congratulations to all faculty, staff and trainees on your recent accomplishments and successes.

Gregor Reid, PhD, was named a Distinguished University Professor (DUP). The honour acknowledges sustained excellence in scholarship over a substantial career at Western.

Alison Allan, PhD, Shelley McKellar, PhD, and Dr. David Palma were named Faculty Scholars, recognizing their significant achievements in teaching and research.

Seven faculty members have received awards for excellence in teaching, Western's highest honours for inspiring active and deep learning in their students. Congratulations to:

  • Nicole Campbell, PhD, Physiology and Pharmacology
  • Charys Martin, PhD, Anatomy and Cell Biology
  • Michele Barbeau, PhD, Anatomy and Cell Biology
  • Anita Woods, PhD, Physiology and Pharmacology
  • Tom Stavraky, PhD, Physiology and Pharmacology
  • Angela Beye, PhD, Physiology and Pharmacology
  • Sarah McLean, PhD, Physiology and Pharmacology; Anatomy and Cell Biology

Timothy Scholl, PhD, and his team received a U.S. Department of Defense Prostate Cancer Idea Development Award.

Frank Beier, PhD, is being honoured with an Award for Basic Science Research from the Osteoarthritis Research Society International (OARSI). The award recognizes Beier’s pioneering work in applying genomics techniques to osteoarthritis models. Read the announcement

Dr. Samuel Asfaha was awarded a renewal of his CIHR Clinician Scientist Phase II Award.

Jina Kum, PhD Candidate, has been elected President of the Society of Graduate Students (SOGS) at Western. She will begin her new role on May 1, 2019.

Research projects led by Sayra Cristancho, PhD, and Dr. Chris Watling received Faculty Support for Research in Education (FSRE) grants. These grants support projects with the potential to improve the state of knowledge and inform educational practice or curriculum. Read the announcement

Congratulations to the following recipients of 2019 Lawson Impact Awards:

  • Dr. Guido Filler, Professor, Paediatrics – Scientist of the Year
  • Dr. Don Richardson, Associate Professor, Psychiatry – Innovation Award
  • Dr. Sarah Morrow, Associate Professor, Clinical Neurological Sciences – Dr. Joseph Gilbert Research Contribution of the Year Award
  • Laura Craven, PhD Candidate, Microbiology & Immunology – Leadership Award for Fellows & Students
  • Lawrence Yip, PhD Candidate, Medical Biophysics – Leadership Award for Fellows & Students

Congratulations to the recipients of the Academic Medical Organization of Southwestern Ontario (AMOSO) 2018-19 Innovation Fund competition:

  • Dr. John Murkin and Dr. Jason Chui, Anesthesia and Perioperative Medicine
    Continuous, Non-Invasive Monitoring of Intraoperative Cerebral Perfusion and Oxidative Metabolism (CPOM): A Knowledge Translation Study
  • Dr. Neil Duggal, Clinical Neurological Sciences
    Validation of a Novel Hand Rehabilitation Program and Dexterity Assessment Device in Patients with Cervical Myelopathy
  • Dr. Alexander Khaw, Clinical Neurological Sciences
    Predictive Value of the AlphaFIM for Functional Outcomes in Intracerebral Hemorrhage versus Ischemic Stroke
  • Dr. Lillian Barra and Dr. Susan Huang, Medicine
    Structural Cerebrovascular Sequelae and Cognitive Impairment in Anti-Neutrophilic Cytoplasmic Antibody-Associated Vasculitis
  • Dr. Sanjay Mehta, Medicine
    A Pilot Translational Study to Assess the Clinical Utility of Endotyping Patients with Sepsis Using a Novel in vitro Human Endothelial Cell Bioassay
  • Dr. Marco Mura, Medicine
    Molecular Diagnosis of Idiopathic Interstitial Pneumonias: A Prospective Study
  • Dr. Janet Pope, Medicine
    A Randomized Trial of Advanced Therapeutics in RA
  • Dr. Marat Slessarev, Medicine
    Improving ICU Outcomes for Acute Kidney Injury Patients by Cooling Blood in the Dialysis Circuit: A Randomized Controlled Trial
  • Dr. Erin Spicer and Dr. Marko Mrkobrada, Medicine
    WalkMORE: A randomized controlled trial of a volunteer-driven walking intervention to improve hospital-associated deconditioning and frailty
  • Dr. Javeed Sukhera, Psychiatry
    Improving Outcomes for Vulnerable Populations through Implicit Addictions Stigma Reduction
  • Dr. Lakshman Gunaratnam and Dr. Robert Hegele, Medicine
    Predicting Delayed Graft function after Deceased Donor Kidney Transplantation using Polymorphisms of Kidney Injury Molecule-1 (KIM-1)
  • Dr. Aze Wilson and Dr. Richard B. Kim, Medicine
    Enhancing Safety and Benefit from Azathioprine Therapy for Our Inflammatory Bowel Disease Patients
  • Dr. Douglas D. Fraser and Dr. Claudio Martin, Paediatrics and Medicine
    Early Rehabilitation in Critically ill Children – The PICU Liber8 Pilot Study
  • Dr. Lena Palaniyappan, Psychiatry
    Preventing Functional Decline in Schizophrenia: A Novel Stratification Approach for High-Risk Clinics