Celebrating your achievements

Dr. Tom Appleton and David Holdsworth, PhD, received funding from the New Frontiers in Research Fund – Exploration Stream in support of high-risk, high-reward and interdisciplinary research projects.

Dr. Tarek Loubani was awarded the Bassel Khartabil Fellowship, recognizing his dedication to using concept of open access to design and distribute low-cost medical supplies.

Dr. Connie Mackenzie received the UofT Division of Clinical Pharmacology Teaching Award for 2019-2020.

Jonathan Michaels, PhD, was awarded a 2020 Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship, given to top scholars across Canada and internationally who are seen as capable of contributing to the country’s economic, social and research growth. 

Shawn Whitehead, PhD, was awarded the Alzheimer Foundation London and Middlesex Premier Research Grant. His research will focus on understanding how white matter inflammation relates to cognitive decline, and how this can be detected in various animal models of Alzheimer’s disease.

Thirteen graduate trainees received Internal Graduate Awards for 2020, recognizing research strength and excellence. And 10 trainees received inaugural Dean’s Research Scholarship.

Four medical students received prizes honouring excellence in the history of medicine  – Kisher Johnson, Melissa Chopcian, Jelena Poleksic and Jacob Wihlidal.