FMIG Profile: Madeleine Claire Farquhar

Tell us a bit about yourself. 

I’m a second-year medical student here at Western. Prior to medical school, I completed my undergraduate degree in Nutrition at the University of Guelph, then went to the University of Toronto for my Masters of Public Health specializing in Nutrition and Dietetics. Through my Masters, I also completed the required practical training to become a Registered Dietitian.

What interests you about family medicine?

What interests me about family medicine is being able to care for patients of all ages with a variety of medical concerns. I also like the fact that you are able to form longitudinal relationships with patients.

Can you tell me about your experience in the program? 

I have really enjoyed my experience in medical school so far. It’s hard to believe how much I have learned in just over a year, and I can’t wait to be able to put this knowledge into practice when I enter clerkship!

What has been your greatest challenge? 

I think my greatest challenge in medical school so far has been figuring out the best way to study. There is a lot of content to learn and it can get overwhelming sometimes, so I had to try out a few different study strategies before I found what worked best for me.

What has been your greatest experience to date in your study?

This summer I was able to complete an elective at a family practice that has a focus on obstetrics. This was a great experience, as I got the opportunity to learn more about women’s health and put some of my clinical skills into practice.

What inspires you in your work? 

What inspires me in medical school is the fact that I will eventually be able to put all of the things that I am learning into practice to help patients one day. I find this to be very inspiring and exciting!

What would you say to future students who are interested in Family Medicine?

I would tell students interested in Family Medicine to speak with family physicians in practice and to participate in observerships to learn more about what it’s like to work as a family doctor.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? 

In 10 years, I see myself working in a family practice, potentially with a focus on women’s health.

What special interests or hobbies do you have? 

Outside of school, I love to get outside and stay active! I like to run, bike and go for hikes around the city. I also really enjoy cooking and trying out new recipes!