2023 Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the 2023 Schulich Medicine & Dentistry Internal Graduate Awards recipients

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the Schulich Medicine & Dentistry Internal Graduate Awards. Congratulations to all!

Collip Medal Award

Dr. Megan Roussy

Department: Neuroscicence
Drs. Julio Martinez-Trujillo and L. Palaniyappan.
Title of Thesis: Prefrontal coding of naturalistic working memory: Mechanisms during normal maintenance and modelled disease.

Established in 1959, the award is presented annually to the most outstanding Ph.D. student graduating from one of the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry’s programs. The award commemorates the contributions of Dr. J. B. Collip, one of the School’s former Deans. 

Cobban Student Award in Heart and Stroke Research

Matthew Kolisnyk, Neuroscience (Supervisors: A. Owen & D. Debicki)

Established by Audrey and Delmar Cobban and matched by Robarts Research Institute, this award recognizes doctoral research in the area of heart and stroke disease. Value: 1 @ $1900.00

Drs. Madge and Charles Macklin Fellowship for Teaching and Research in Medical Sciences 

Amena Aktar, Microbiology & Immunology (Supervisor: B. Heit)

This fellowship is available to full-time doctoral students, and it recognizes and rewards excellence in teaching and research. This fellowship was established by a bequest from Margaret Macklin Frewen. Value:1 @ $5600.00

Drs. Madge and Charles Macklin Fellowship for Publication in Medical Sciences

Hien Chi Nguyen, Anatomy & Cell Biology (Supervisor: K. Singh)

The fellowship is available to full-time doctoral students who have published their doctoral research as first author in a peer reviewed journal. This fellowship was established through a legacy donation from Margaret Macklin Frewen. Value: 1 @ $5600.00

Jonathan & Joshua Memorial Graduate Scholarship (4 Doctoral Awards)

  1. Breanne Kearney, Neuroscience (Supervisor: R. Lanius)
  2. Hayley Shanks, Neuroscience (Supervisors, Drs. T. Schmitz & S. Pasternak)
  3. Katherine Quesnel, Anatomy & Cell Biology (Supervisor, Dr. N. Berube)
  4. Alaa El-Cheick Mohamad, Neuroscience (Supervisors, Drs. S. Schmid & B. Allman) 

This scholarship is given to doctoral students who are specializing in the neuroscience of mental health disorders and is generously made available by Mr. Robert McKinnon. 4 @ $25,000

Jonathan & Joshua Memorial Graduate Travel Scholarship (Masters or Doctoral)

No recipient at this time (July 2023), please check back in September 2023

This scholarship is given to a doctoral or masters student who is specializing in mental health research and is generously made available by Mr. Robert McKinnon and friends. Value: 1 @ $1400.00 

Norman E. Nixon Marie Rämö Nixon Award

Kesavi Kanagasabai,  Medical Biophysics, (Supervisor, Dr. L. Palaniyappan and Dr. J. Théberge )

Awarded to a full-time graduate student in a Masters or PhD program at Western who is working with a Robarts Research Institute Scientist. This award was established by a generous donation from Mrs. Marie Nixon. Value: 1 @ $2600.00

Morris Kroll Award-2023 (every other year)

Emily Tomas, Anatomy and Cell Biology (Supervisor: T. Shepherd). Value: 1 @ $750.00


Dean's Research Scholarship:

The Dean’s Research Scholarship (DRS) is designed to support Western University and Schulich Medicine & Dentistry’s commitment to enhance collaborative and translational research.The scholarships will be in the amounts of $10,000 for Master’s students and $14,000 for PhD students in the 2023-24 academic year.

MSc DRS PhD DRS First Name Last Name Graduate Program
 $  10,000.00   Matthew Arbolino Microbiology and Immunology
 $  10,000.00   Garth Blackler Physiology and Pharmocology
   $  14,000.00 Neil Donison Neuroscience
 $  10,000.00   Elizabeth Fenton  Anatomy and Cell Biology
 $  10,000.00   Ira Gupta Neuroscience
 $  10,000.00   Yasaman Hajiesmaeili Epidemiology and Biostatistics
   $  14,000.00 Atefeh Jafari Epidemiology and Biostatistics
 $  10,000.00   Erica Kane Anatomy and Cell Biology
 $  10,000.00   Saiswaran Manorathan Physiology and Pharmocology
 $  10,000.00   Yasamin Minazadeh Microbiology and Immunology
   $  14,000.00 Edith Otalike Epidemiology and Biostatistics
 $  10,000.00   Jason Sheng Epidemiology and Biostatistics
 $  10,000.00   Tanmay Vasa Epidemiology and Biostatistics
 $  10,000.00   Yasaman Yazdani Epidemiology and Biostatistics