2021 Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the 2021 Schulich Medicine & Dentistry Internal Graduate Awards recipients

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the Schulich Medicine & Dentistry Internal Graduate Awards. Congratulations to all!

Collip Medal Award

Dr. Jacqueline Dron

Department: Biochemistry
Dr. R. Hegele
Title of Thesis: The genetic determinants of complex lipid and lipoprotein phenotypes 

Established in 1959, the award is presented annually to the most outstanding Ph.D. student graduating from one of the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry’s programs. The award commemorates the contributions of Dr. J. B. Collip, one of the School’s former Deans. 

Cobban Student Award in Heart and Stroke Research

Kevin Chung, Medical Biophysics (Supervisor, Dr. TY.Lee)

Established by Audrey and Delmar Cobban and matched by Robarts Research Institute, this award recognizes doctoral research in the area of heart and stroke disease. Value: 1 @ $1500.00

Drs. Madge and Charles Macklin Fellowship for Teaching and Research in Medical Sciences 

Mariyan Jeyarajah, Anatomy & Cell Biology (Supervisor, Dr. S. Renaud)

This fellowship is available to full-time doctoral students, and it recognizes and rewards excellence in teaching and research. This fellowship was established by a bequest from Margaret Macklin Frewen. Value:1 @ $4250.00

Drs. Madge and Charles Macklin Fellowship for Publication in Medical Sciences

Denny Chin, Microbiology & Immunology (Supervisor, Dr. D. Heinrichs)

The fellowship is available to full-time doctoral students who have published their doctoral research as first author in a peer reviewed journal. This fellowship was established through a legacy donation from Margaret Macklin Frewen. Value: 1 @ $4500.00 

Jonathan & Joshua Memorial Graduate Scholarship (4 Doctoral Awards)

  1. Matthew Demmings,Neuroscience (Supervisor, Dr. S. Cregan)
  2. Peter Jeon, Medical Biophysics (Supervisors, Drs. J. Theberge & Dr, L. Palaniyappan)
  3. Michael MacKinley, Neuroscience (Supervisor, Dr. L. Palaniyappan)
  4. Aja Hogan-Cann, Neuroscience (Supervisors, Drs. M. Prado & V. Prado) 

This scholarship is given to doctoral students who are specializing in the neuroscience of mental health disorders and is generously made available by Mr. Robert McKinnon. 4 @ $25,000

Jonathan & Joshua Memorial Graduate Travel Scholarship (Masters or Doctoral)

Tyler Dexter, Neuroscience (Supervisors, Drs. T. Bussey & L. Saksida)

This scholarship is given to a doctoral or masters student who is specializing in mental health research and is generously made available by Mr. Robert McKinnon and friends. Value: 1 @ $1400.00 

Norman E. Nixon Marie Rämö Nixon Award

Claire Park, Medical Biophysics, (Supervisor, Dr. A. Fenster)

Awarded to a full-time graduate student in a Masters or PhD program at Western who is working with a Robarts Research Institute Scientist. This award was established by a generous donation from Mrs. Marie Nixon. Value: 1 @ $2600.00

Morris Kroll Award

Tian Duo Wang, Medical Biophysics, (Supervisor, Dr. J. Ronald)

The award was established by Mr. Franklin Shostack and Dr. Zane Cohen in memory of Morris Kroll.  The scholarship will be awarded to a student registered at the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, who is working in the area of Cancer Research. Value: 1 @ $500.00 (every second year).


Dean's Research Scholarship (New 2021): 

The scholarships will be in the amounts of $10,000 for Master’s students and $14,000 for PhD students per year, for two years.

Degree First Name Last Name Program/Dept Supervisors
MSC Lynn Huong Physiology & Pharmacology Dr. T. Appleton, Dr. F.Beier
MSC Chen Jun Gao Physiology & Pharmacology Dr. L Zhao, Dr. R Ramachandran
MSC Britney Messam Biochemistry Dr. E. Turley and Dr. T. DeLyzer
PhD Nasim Mortazavi Neuroscience Dr. J. Martinez-Trujillo, Dr. A. Suller-Marti
PHD Maitray Patel Epidemiology & Biostatistics Dr. D. Fraser, Dr. M. Daley
MSC Daniel Taylor Physiology & Pharmacology Dr. A. Wilson, Dr. U. Schwarz
MSC Sofya Ulanova Microbiology & Immunology Dr. Barra and Dr. Cairns
PHD Peter VanDyken Neuroscience
Dr L. Palaniyappan, Dr A. Khan 
MSC Rachel Wagner Neuroscience Dr. U. Anazodo, Dr. M. Jurkiewicz