2022 Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the 2022 Schulich Medicine & Dentistry Internal Graduate Awards recipients

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the Schulich Medicine & Dentistry Internal Graduate Awards. Congratulations to all!

Collip Medal Award

Dr. Denny Chin

Department: Microbiology & Immunology
Dr. D. Heinrichs
Title of Thesis: The Role of Coagulase-Negative Staphylococcal Secreted Products on Staphylococcus aureus and Staphylococcus lugdunensis Infections.

Established in 1959, the award is presented annually to the most outstanding Ph.D. student graduating from one of the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry’s programs. The award commemorates the contributions of Dr. J. B. Collip, one of the School’s former Deans. 

Cobban Student Award in Heart and Stroke Research

Kevin Chung, Medical Biophysics (Supervisor, Dr. TY.Lee)

Established by Audrey and Delmar Cobban and matched by Robarts Research Institute, this award recognizes doctoral research in the area of heart and stroke disease. Value: 1 @ $1500.00

Drs. Madge and Charles Macklin Fellowship for Teaching and Research in Medical Sciences 

John Chmiel, Microbiology & Immunology (Supervisors, Drs. J. Burton & J. Bjazevic)

This fellowship is available to full-time doctoral students, and it recognizes and rewards excellence in teaching and research. This fellowship was established by a bequest from Margaret Macklin Frewen. Value:1 @ $4250.00

Drs. Madge and Charles Macklin Fellowship for Publication in Medical Sciences

Matthew Demmings, Neuroscience (Supervisor, Dr. S. Cregan)

The fellowship is available to full-time doctoral students who have published their doctoral research as first author in a peer reviewed journal. This fellowship was established through a legacy donation from Margaret Macklin Frewen. Value: 1 @ $4250.00 

Jonathan & Joshua Memorial Graduate Scholarship (4 Doctoral Awards)

  1. Neil Donison, Neuroscience (Supervisors, Drs. A. Brown & M. Strong)
  2. Hayley Shanks, Neuroscience (Supervisors, Drs. T. Schmitz & S. Pasternak)
  3. Esmin Unaran, Neuroscience (Supervisor, Dr. R. Menon)
  4. Alice Zheng, Neuroscience (Supervisors, Drs. S. Schmid & B. Allman) 

This scholarship is given to doctoral students who are specializing in the neuroscience of mental health disorders and is generously made available by Mr. Robert McKinnon. 4 @ $25,000

Jonathan & Joshua Memorial Graduate Travel Scholarship (Masters or Doctoral)

Matthew Jones, Neuroscience (Supervisor, Dr. S. Laviolette)

This scholarship is given to a doctoral or masters student who is specializing in mental health research and is generously made available by Mr. Robert McKinnon and friends. Value: 1 @ $1400.00 

Norman E. Nixon Marie Rämö Nixon Award

Olivia Sehl, Medical Biophysics, (Supervisor, Dr. P. Foster)

Awarded to a full-time graduate student in a Masters or PhD program at Western who is working with a Robarts Research Institute Scientist. This award was established by a generous donation from Mrs. Marie Nixon. Value: 1 @ $2600.00

Morris Kroll Award-not given out in the 2022 year (every other year)


Dean's Research Scholarship:

The Dean’s Research Scholarship (DRS) is designed to support Western University and Schulich Medicine & Dentistry’s commitment to enhance collaborative and translational research. Starting the academic year 2020/21, a total of 10 awards per year to support graduate student research will be given. The scholarships will be in the amounts of $10,000 for Master’s students and $14,000 for PhD students per year, for two years.

PhD Awardees:

Pavlina Faltynek Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Jaryd Christie Medical Biophysics
Eric Wang Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Tsz Wai Bentley Lo Neuroscience
Rober Abdo Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Ryan Au Medical Biophysics

 MSc Awardees:

Zina Zein Abdin  Physiology & Pharmacology
Hannah Gray Neuroscience
Harjot Athwal Anatomy & Cell Biology