2019 Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the 2019 Schulich Medicine & Dentistry Internal Graduate Awards recipients

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the Schulich Medicine & Dentistry Internal Graduate Awards. Congratulations to all!

Collip Medal Award

  • Dr. Nikolas Knowles, School of Biomedical Engineering
  • Supervisor: Dr. Louis Ferreira
  • Title of thesis: Improving Material Mapping in Glenohumeral Finite Element Models: A Multi-Level Evaluation

Established in 1959, the award is presented annually to the most outstanding Ph.D. student graduating from one of the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry’s programs. The award commemorates the contributions of Dr. J. B. Collip, one of the School’s former Deans. 

Cobban Student Award in Heart and Stroke Research

    • Julieta Lazarte, Biochemistry (Supervisor, Dr. R. Hegele)

 Established by Audrey and Delmar Cobban and matched by Robarts Research Institute, this award recognizes doctoral research in the area of heart and stroke disease. Value: 1 @ $1500.00


Drs. Madge and Charles Macklin Fellowship for Teaching and Research in Medical Sciences

      • Matthew Berg, Biochemistry (Supervisor, Dr. C. Brandl)

 This fellowship is available to full-time doctoral students, and it recognizes and rewards excellence in teaching and research. This fellowship was established by a bequest from Margaret Macklin Frewen. Value:1 @ $4250.00


Drs. Madge and Charles Macklin Fellowship for Publication in Medical Sciences

        • Nivin Nystrom, Medical Biophysics, Molecular Imaging (Supervisor, Drs. J. Ronald & T. Scholl)

 The fellowship is available to full-time doctoral students who have published their doctoral research as first author in a peer reviewed journal. This fellowship was established through a legacy donation from Margaret Macklin Frewen. Value: 1 @ $4500.00


Jonathan & Joshua Memorial Graduate Scholarship (4 Doctoral Awards)

          1. Faraj Haddad, Neuroscience (Supervisor, Dr. S. Schmid)
          2. Ornela Kljakic, Anatomy & Cell Biology (Supervisors, Drs. M. Prado & V. Prado)
          3. Braeden Terpou, Neuroscience (Supervisor, Dr. R. Lanius)
          4. Krystyna Wieczerzak, Neuroscience (Supervisor, Dr. B. Allman)

This scholarship is given to doctoral students who are specializing in the neuroscience of mental health disorders, and is generously made available by Mr. Robert McKinnon. 4 @ $25,000


Jonathan & Joshua Memorial Graduate Travel Scholarship (Masters or Doctoral)

          • Kaela Scott, Neuroscience (Supervisor, Drs. S. Schmid & B. Allman)

This scholarship is given to a doctoral or masters student who is specializing in mental health research, and is generously made available by Mr. Robert McKinnon and friends. Value: 1 @ $1400.00


Nellie Farthing Fellowship in Medical Sciences (3 Awards)

            1. Saumik Biswas, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Supervisor, Dr. S. Chakrabarti)
            2. Rachel Eddy, Medical Biophysics (Supervisor Dr. G. Parraga)
            3. Zachary Hawley, Neuroscience (Supervisor, Dr. M. Strong)

Established in 1960 through a generous legacy donation from Nellie Farthing, the Fellowship recognizes excellence in research to a full-time doctoral student in Medical Sciences. Candidate’s record of research is of primary importance.  Value: 3 @ $3000.00

Norman E. Nixon Marie Rämö Nixon Award

            • Jacqueline Dron, Biochemistry, (Supervisor, Dr. R. Hegele)

Awarded to a full-time graduate student in a Masters or PhD program at Western who is working with a Robarts Research Institute Scientist. This award was established by a generous donation from Mrs. Marie Nixon. Value: 1 @ $2600.00


Morris Kroll Award

                • Steven Gameiro, Microbiology & Immunology (Supervisor, Dr. J. Mymryk)

              The award was established by Mr. Franklin Shostack and Dr. Zane Cohen in memory of Morris Kroll.  The scholarship will be awarded to a student registered at the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, who is working in the area of Cancer Research. Value: 1 @ $500.00 (every second year).


              John P. Robarts Award for Innovative Medical Research

              Deadline Extended until Fall. Winners to be Announced in Fall, 2019

              This award funding is provided by friends and colleagues of John P. Robarts.Candidates were selected based on research excellence (demonstrated and potential) and degree of innovation of their work. This included specific assessment of candidate’s research record, and the quality and potential impact of the research to be presented. Value: 1 @ $1500.00