Celebrating your achievements

Congratulations to:
Greta Bauer, PhD, was named one of 15 Sex and Gender Science Chairs by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. The Chairs will investigate sex and/or gender as a primary research question, while also building capacity and sharing findings within and outside of their research communities.
Nicole Campbell, PhD, received a 2020 Teaching Excellence Award from the Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance (OUSA).
Gregory Dekaban, PhD, has been extended as Acting Chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology.
Hanif Ladak, PhD, Dr. Manuel Montero-Odasso, Cheryle Séguin, PhD, and Dr. Chris Watling, were selected among 16 new Faculty Scholars at Western University. The recipients are considered all-around scholars and will hold the title for two years and receive $7,000 each year for scholarly activities.
Joy MacDermid, PhD, was named a Distinguished University Professor by Western University.
Silvia Penuela, PhD, and Matthew Teeter, PhD, were named as recipients of the Petro-Canada Young Innovator Awards. The program provides awards to new researchers to recognize and support innovative work that not only impacts positively the learning environment in their department, but society at large.
Dr. Terri Paul has been appointed Interim Assistant Dean, Faculty Equity Wellbeing, and Interim Assistant Dean, Resident Wellbeing, Learner Equity & Wellness for a six-month term.
Dr. Mithu Sen graduated from the the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program at Drexel University College of Medicine, as part of the Program’s 25th anniversary class of fellows.
Drs. Ram Singh and Craig Campbell have been appointed Interim Co-Chair/Chiefs for the Department of Paediatrics, effective May 1. 
Shannon Sibbald, PhD, co-authored a publication in Scandinavian Journal of Caring Sciences, entitled “Healthcare teams and patient-related terminology: a review of concepts and uses.” 

Dr. David Spence received the William M. Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke from the American Stroke Association, a division of the American Heart Association.
Jona Szakacs, Dentistry Class of 2020, received the inaugural dentalcorp Academic Excellence Award. Only one scholarship is awarded each year to a graduating dental student in Canada.
Amer Youssef, PhD, received the Paul Dudley White International Scholar Award from the American Heart Association, recognizing the highest ranked abstract submitted from Canada to the Vascular Discovery: From Genes to Medicine Scientific Sessions 2020 Conference.
New rapid grants through the AMOSO Innovation Fund are enabling researchers to explore important COVID-19 research projects. The funding will help support studies from improving diagnostic and epidemiologic detection of the virus, to understanding the impact of COVID-19 on healthcare workers in Ontario.
Five new interdisciplinary research teams received funding from the Collaborative Research Seed Grants program at the School.
Researchers at Schulich Medicine & Dentistry received more than $4 million from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC). Twenty projects were supported through the Discovery Grants program and four projects were supported through the Research Tools and Instruments competition.