Celebrating our achievements

To include awards and achievements in The Pulse please email your submission to jessica.mcgaw@schulich.uwo.ca. Submissions are accepted on an ongoing basis throughout the year and will be featured in the following month's newsletter.

Congratulations to the Medicine Class of ’49 award winners: Dr. Roderick Clark (junior award) and Dr. Morgan McWilliam (senior award). This is an award for excellence in teaching by residents and is awarded to one senior and one junior resident with exceptional teaching ability that made significant contributions to the undergraduate education of clinical clerks.

Congratulations to Sarah Svenningsen, PhD'16, on receiving the inaugural John P. Robarts Award and the 2016 Collip Medal. Read More

Dr. Nicholas Power has received a Medical Innovation Fellowship and has moved his creative approach to treating urostomy patients a step closer to reality. Asha Parekh, Ali Tavallaei and John Matheson and Power received the inaugural Ernsting Entrepreneurship Award, along with $50,000 in funding, from the Fight Against Cancer Innovation Trust (FACIT) Catalyst Fund. Read More

Congratulations to Dale Laird, PhD, on his induction as a Fellow into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS). The CAHS praised Laird as, “the foremost researcher in the study of cell to cell communication and connection to over a dozen diseases raising the awareness that connexin-linked diseases are amongst the most common inherited diseases in society.” Read More

BMSc student Mary Wang was recently named one of 25 Global Winners in the Undergraduate Awards competition, an academic awards program that celebrates the world's brightest undergraduate students. Read More

Thirteen graduate trainees recently received 2016-2017 Translational Breast Cancer Research Studentships. These awards are supported by the Breast Cancer Society of Canada’s commitment to the Pamela Greenaway-Kohlmeier Translational Breast Cancer Research Unit at the London Health Sciences Centre’s London Regional Cancer Program (LRCP). Congratulations to this year’s recipients: Yonathan Araya, PhD Candidate, Medical Biophysics; Sami Khan, MSc Candidate, Anatomy and Cell Biology; Bart Kolendowski, PhD Candidate, Biochemistry; Milica Krstic, PhD Candidate, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Ashley Makela, PhD Candidate, Medical Biophysics; Matthew Mouawad, PhD Candidate, Medical Biophysics; Tomi Nano, PhD-MCISc (CAMPEP) Candidate, Medical Biophysics; Katie Parkins, MSc Candidate, Medical Biophysics; Ashkan Sadri, MSc Candidate, Anatomy and Cell Biology; Olivia Tong, MSc Candidate, Biomedical Engineering; Lawrence Yip, MSc Candidate, Medical Biophysics.

Four Schulich Medicine & Dentistry graduate trainees recently received the 2016 Dean's Scholarship for Graduate Research. Congratulations to Teresa Nunez de Villavicencio Diaz and Farzad Asadi Jomnani on receiving the PhD scholarship, and to Yuwei Jiang and Ashley Makela on receiving the MSc Transfer to PhD Scholarship for Graduate Research. Read More

Congratulations to the three recipients of the Dr. Ed Brecevic Award for Compassionate Care: Dr. Tina Zhang, Tehmina Ahmad and Erin Wiley. This award recognizes clinical clerks or residents who demonstrate an exceptional bedside manner and compassionate patient care.

Congratulations to Dr. Gregor Reid, Dr. Charles Weijer and Dr. Anita Kothari. The three were recently elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society of Canada. Read More

Almost $30 million in CIHR funding was awarded to Schulich Medicine & Dentistry researchers in the latest round of competition. 34 projects were funded across the School, Robarts Research Institute, and Lawson Health Research Institute including $14.8 million in project grants, and more than $15 million in foundation grants. Congratulations to all of the successful applicants. Read More

Ten Schulich Medicine & Dentistry employees who were honoured this summer at the Western University long-service award ceremony. This award marks an impressive milestone of 25 years of service at Western. Congratulations to the following faculty and staff members: Barbara Merner, Schulich Dentistry; Dr. David Haniford, Department of Biochemistry; Magda Catani, Department of Family Medicine; Dr. Graeme Hunter, Schulich Dentistry; Department of Biochemistry; Dr. Philip Doyle, Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery; Linda Chapman, Robarts Research Institute; Dr. Carolyn McLean, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Dr. Kamilia Rizkalla, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Dr. Madeleine Moussa, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Dr. David Holdsworth, Departments of Medical Biophysics and Surgery; Robarts Research Institute.

Congratulations to Dr. Mithu Sen, Assistant Dean, Faculty Equity and Wellness, for her leadership and work on Faculty Wellness for Schulich Medicine & Dentistry. Her work was accepted to the highly respected Associated American Colleges (AAMC) meeting. During a very competitive year, her project was selected for a presentation and poster competetition at the meeting. The presentation, entiitled "The Development of a Faculty Wellness Program at a Canadian Medican School" received prestigious international recognition with a Best in Class award for Faculty Vitality, Resilience, and Work-Life Integration which highlights Schulich Medicine & Dentistry at an international level as a pioneer in leading innovative work for Faculty Wellness and Faculty Affairs.

Dr. Mark Awuku received the Danielle Grenier Member Recognition Award for his outstanding contributions to the CPS as chair of the Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Committee. Additionally, the University of Windsor bestowed an Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree (LLD) on Dr. Awuku.

Congratulations to Dr. Rachel Burdett on completing the course requirements for the Faculty Development Teaching Certificate.

Dr. Catherine Yanchula assisted with the development of the Transitions of Care recommendations, which were published during the summer in the international Journal of Stroke.

Dr. Larry Jacobs received the Department of Family Medicine Specialist Teacher of the Year Award and the CTU Teacher Award for the School, as nominated by third-year residents.

Congratulations to Adam Paish, PhD candidate, on receiving the A.C. Groom Award for best PhD candidate presentation in the 2015-16 academic year. Adam was awarded $1,000 that is part of a living legacy from the Department of Medical Biophysics and the Groom family in honour of Dr. A.C. Groom, a past chair of the Department.

Two Robarts trainees represented Schulich Medicine & Dentistry and Western University at the 29th Annual Canadian Student Health Research Forum (CSHRF) at the University of Manitoba in June. Congratulations to Ian Connell, PhD candidate, and Dante Capaldi, PhD candidate. Capaldi's research was also featured on the cover of Radiology in May 2016.