Congratulations to the 2015 BMSUE Award Recipients

Proud parents, family and friends congratulated the 27 talented award winners at the 2015 Basic Medical Sciences Undergraduate Education Awards Ceremony.

The ceremony provided an opportunity for everyone to recognize the hard work and impressive achievements these talented graduates will add to their resumes.

The prestigious Governor General’s Silver Medal was presented to Brandon Budhram, BMSc’15. Budhram received one of three Western University-wide Governor General Silver Medals, awarded to a student with the highest average of all graduates at Spring Convocation. Budhram also had the privilege of carrying the gonfalon into the convocation ceremony.

This Convocation also marked the first graduating class from the Honors Specialization in Neuroscience, a BSc degree offered by Schulich Medicine & Dentistry. The first Gold Medal for this program was awarded to Mallory Jackman. Jackman is also a founding member and co-president of the Western Undergraduate Neuroscience Society (WUNS), an undergraduate student association.

The Hugh B. Anderson Award in Physiology was also presented for the first time. It was established in honour of the late Hugh Anderson, BSc '77 Honors Physiology, MBA '79. Anderson worked passionately in international business development in the field of biotechnology, masterfully blending both of his chosen fields of study. He believed that research in medical physiology would be the path to discovering cures and the possible prevention of significant critical illnesses. Mrs. Jocelyn Anderson and her daughter presented the award to Claire Young.

Following the ceremony, celebratory cake and refreshments were enjoyed by all at a small reception in the Medical Sciences Building lobby.

Congratulations to the 2015 Award Recipients:

Governor General’s Silver Medal
Brandon Budhram

Western Gold Medals
Honors Specialization on Medical Cell Biology – Andrea Gaile Louttit
Major in Medical Cell Biology – Krystal Mei-Yin Beh
Honors Specialization in Biochemistry – Amelia Sadie Aitken
Honors Specialization in Biochemistry and Cell Biology – Matthew David Berg
Honors Specialization in Clinical Biochemistry: Dr. D. S. M. Haines Gold Medal and Award – Jillian Anne Macklin
Major in Biochemistry – Sydney Laura Brandt
Honors Specialization in Medical Biophysics (Medical Science Concentration) – Andrew Pritchard
Honors Specialization in Medical Biophysics (Clinical Physics Concentration) – Thien Phuoc Dang
Major in Medical Biophysics – Ka-Kit David Yeung
Honors Specialization in Medical Sciences – Brandon Budhram
Major in Medical Sciences – Krystal Mei-Yin Beh
Honors Specialization in Microbiology and Immunology – Jessica He
Honors Specialization in Biochemistry of Infection and Immunity – Diliana Stratkova
Honors Specialization in Neuroscience – Mallory Estelle Jackman
Honors Specialization in Pathology and Toxicology – Neruja Loganathan
Major in Pathology – Hayley Joan Good
Honors Specialization in Physiology: J. A. F. Stevenson Gold Medal in Physiology – Ryan Gauld
Honors Specialization in Pharmacology: Susan Vitali-Lovell Gold Medal and Award – Meng Jiao Mandy Li
Honors Specialization in Physiology and Pharmacology – Caroline Piccininni
Honors Specialization in Physiology and Psychology – Tina Felfeli
Major in Physiology – Casey Beth Rosen
Major in Pharmacology – Grace Ya Ting Peng
Bachelor of Medical Sciences Degree (4 year) – Hassan Sherwan Husni

Named Awards
Hugh B. Anderson Award in Physiology – Claire Young
Gordon J. Spylo Award in Physiology – Evelyn Lok-Yan Ng
Strik-Couprie-Inch Cancer Research Course Medal and Prize – Melanie Chin

Check out the slideshow of award recipients below. Can't see the slideshow? Click here.