2021 Departmental Award Recipients


On behalf of departmental committees overseeing graduate education and resident training, we are pleased to announce the results of our 2021 Departmental Awards. We received over 50 applications for the various awards. We are thankful to the committees as well as a number of invited faculty members for tackling the difficult task of adjudicating the awards. We congratulate the 2021 recipients for their excellent contributions. Recipients are also highlighted on our Awards and Honours website.  

Resident Awards

Dr. P.C. Raju & Jyoti Shah Resident Prize

This prize was established in 2016 through a generous gift from Dr. P.C. Raju and Jyoti Shah. Dr. Shah was a member of Western’s Pathology Faculty from 1990 to 2012. The prize was created to recognize the best research article published in a peer-reviewed scientific journal by a Pathology resident as first author.

2021 Awardee: TRAN, Christopher (PGY5, Anatomical Pathology)

Publication: Evaluating the impact of lymph node resampling on colorectal cancer nodal stage. Histopathology. 2020;77(6):974-983. PMID: 32654207

Graduate Students 

Cameron A. Wallace Graduate Student Award in Pathology

The award recognizes a graduate student’s accomplishments in Pathology research and courses undertaken during their graduate program. The award is given in recognition of Dr. A. Cameron Wallace who was the Head of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (1965-1974) and who also served as Acting Chair of the Department on several occasions. He was the Chair of the Graduate Education Committee (1979-1983).

2021 Awardee: NGO, Vy (PhD Candidate).

Dr. Frederick Winnett Luney Graduate Scholarship

Awarded annually to a graduate student(s) in the MSc/MClSc and PhD programs of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, based on academic achievement and research merit.

2021 Awardees: SHIN, Alice (PhD Candidate); ZAKIROVA, Komila (PhD Candidate); GOLINOWSKI, Larisa (MClSc Candidate); LARSEN, Frederikke (MSc Candidate).

Dr. Frederick Winnett Luney Graduate Research Award

These awards are given to graduate students in Pathology and Laboratory Medicine to enhance their graduate training. Recipients are selected based on academic/ research excellence.

2021 Awardees: YEO, Melissa (MClSc Candidate); GERHARDT, Lara (MSc Candidate); TWIBLE, Carolyn (MSc Candidate); ZHANG, Joel (MSc Candidate).

Dutkevich Award

Dutkevich award is given to recognize demonstrated and/or potential for excellence in research by a graduate student in Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, with the spirit and intent of the Donor’s gift.

2021 Awardees: YUAN, Mabel (MSc Candidate); GOMES, Janice (PhD Candidate); ROES, Michael (PhD Candidate); HALARI, Moheem (PhD Candidate).

Dr. P.C. Raju & Jyoti Shah Graduate Prize

Awarded annually to a graduate student with the best first-authored original or research article published.

2021 Awardee: SULLIVAN, Rebecca (PhD Candidate)

Publication: Regional Differences in the Ghrelin-Growth Hormone Secretagogue Receptor Signalling System in Human Heart Disease. CJC Open. 2020;3(2):182-194. PMID: 33644732.

One Health Graduate Student Research Award

These awards, established by the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, support graduate students in the One Health field of the Pathology and Laboratory Medicine graduate programs. Two recipients were selected for 2021.

2021 Awardees: LAPENNA. Ryan (MSc Candidate); ZHANG, Joel (MSc Candidate)