Celebrating your achievements

May 2019

Dr. Matthew Cecchini, PGY5, Anatomical Pathology, received the Dr. P.C. Raju & Jyoti Shah Resident Research Prize, recognizing the Pathology resident with the best published, first-authored original or research article.

Dr. Ken Milne has been honoured with two international awards in recognition of his contribution to academic medicine. He is the recipient of both the Judith E. Tintinally Award for Outstanding Contribution in Education from The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP), and has been recognized for online contribution to learning by the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) with the FOAMed Excellence in Education Award. FOAMed is an acronym for 'Free Open Access Meducation.' Read full article.

Dr. Rebekah Jacques has been awarded the 2018-2019 Martin McKneally Capstone Project Award. This award was created in 2017 on the occasion of Dr. Martin McKneally's retirement in order to honour his many contributions to the University of Toronto Joint Centre for Bioethics and, in particular, to the Master of Health Science (MHSc) in Bioethics program.

Dr. Naila Kassam was named as one of Poets & Quants 100 best and brightest MBAs of 2019.

Andrew Pruszynski, PhD, was awarded the J.A.F. Stevenson Award from the Canadian Physiological Society. The award recognizes an outstanding young Canadian physiologist and is named after James A.F. Stevenson, former renowned physiologist from Western University. Read full article.

Kathy Nixon Speechley, PhD, recognised as the 2019 H.O.P.E award recipient by Epilepsy Southwestern Ontario at the 33rd Annual Spring Gala.


Congratulations to the residents who received awards at the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine's Research Day:

Dr. Paul Plantinga, PGY4, Anatomical Pathology - Chair's Award for the Best Presentation by a Resident

Dr. Christopher Tran, PGY3, Anatomical Pathology - Best Clinical Science Poster Presentation Award


Congratulations to the residents and faculty who received awards at the Department of Otolaryngology — Head and Neck Surgery Residents' Research Day:

Residents Awards

Dr. Peng You, PGY4 — Simon Kirby — Most Caring Resident

Dr. Camilla Stepniak, PGY3 - UME Resident Teaching Award

Dr. Benjamin van der Woerd, PGY3 - Cheski Innovative Resident Research Fund Award

Dr. Hannah Ernst, PGY2 - Peter Cheski Innovative Research Award

Dr. Peng You, PGY4 - W. Gregory Chernoff Impactful Resident Research Award

Dr. Neil Mundi, PGY4 - CA Thompson Scientific Award

Dr. Christopher Dwyer, PGY5 - Outstanding Resident Teacher Award

Faculty Awards

Dr. Kevin Fung - Clinical Teaching Award

Dr. Kathy Roth - Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award