2019 Awards of Excellence recipients

As educators, researchers, innovators and leaders, the 2019 Awards of Excellence London and Windsor Campus recipients are making a difference at the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry. It is with great pride that we recognize and honour their achievements.


Dean’s Awards of Excellence for Staff

Spirit Award

Mauricio Marin, Family Medicine

Continuous Excellence Team Award

Distributed Education

Continuous Excellence Individual Award

Janice Sutherland, Surgery
Sarah O’Flanagan, Psychiatry
Joan Estabrooks, Bachelor of Medical Sciences

Innovation Award

Crystal Mackay, Communications & Marketing

Inspirational Leadership Award

Mariam Hayward, Family Medicine

Schulich Award of Excellence for Faculty in Community/Distributed Sites

Dr. Samuel Appavoo, Family Medicine
Dr. Michel Haddad, Medicine
Dr. David Huffman, Family Medicine
Dr. Zeke Milkovic, Family Medicine
Dr. Donald Neal, Family Medicine
Dr. Ken Uffen, Family Medicine

Schulich Continuing Dental Education Educator Award

Dr. Richard Bohay, Dentistry

Schulich Continuing Medical Education Educator Award

Dr. David Pelz, Medical Imaging

Schulich Faculty Development Award

Dr. Jennifer Vergel de Dios, Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine

Schulich Excellence in Education Awards for Graduate/Postgraduate

Schulich Educator Awards

Kelly Anderson, PhD, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Dr. Sameer Elsayed, Medicine
Stan Leung, PhD, Physiology and Pharmacology
Dr. Aleksandra Nowicki, Psychiatry
Matthew Teeter, PhD, Medical Biophysics


Dr. Sheri-Lynn Kane, Medicine

Schulich Excellence in Education Awards for Undergraduate Education

Schulich Educator Awards

Nica Borradaile, PhD, Physiology and Pharmacology

Leader Awards

David Rodenhiser, PhD, Biochemistry
Walter Rushlow, PhD, Anatomy and Cell Biology

Schulich Faculty Mentorship Awards

Dr. Kevin Armstrong, Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine
Dr. S. Jeffrey Dixon, Physiology and Pharmacology
Aaron Fenster, PhD, Medical Biophysics

Dean’s Awards of Excellence for Faculty


Dr. Glenn Bauman, Oncology
Mansour Haeryfar, PhD, Microbiology and Immunology
Marlys Koschinsky, PhD, Robarts Research Institute

Junior Faculty - Clinical

Dr. Nicholas Power, Surgery

Junior Faculty - Basic

Jimmy Dikeakos, PhD, Microbiology and Immunology
Art Poon, PhD, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Lifetime Achievement

Bhagirath Singh, PhD, Microbiology and Immunology


Dr. Colin Nisbet Award for Excellence in Emergency Medicine

Lakshmi Kamala, Medicine Class of 2019

Associate Dean’s Award of Excellence in Medical Education

Dr. Rasna Gupta, Oncology
Dr. Vladislav Khokhotva, Surgery
Linda Wright, Undergraduate Medical Education

Educators’ Award of Excellence in Medical Education

Dr. Kristina Levang, Psychiatry
Dr. Simon Shanfield, Internal Medicine
Dr. Patricia Valcke, Family Medicine

Learner Peer Award of Excellence in Medical Education

Dr. Matthew Dibartolomeo, Family Medicine Resident
Avalon O’Connor, Medicine Class of 2021
Dylan Russelo, Medicine Class of 2020

Family Medicine Awards

Windsor Family Medicine - Faculty of the Year Award

Dr. Nicole Freeman, Family Medicine

Windsor Sub Specialty Rotation - Faculty of the Year Award

Dr. Simon Shanfield, Internal Medicine

Family Medicine Postgraduate Award for Academic Leadership

Dr. Dema Kadri, Family Medicine Resident

City of Windsor – Family Physician Award

Dr. Tatjana Milovic, Family Medicine
Dr. Sarah-Ann Hanik, Family Medicine


We look forward to celebrating each of the recipients at the upcoming Awards of Excellence Dinners.

Awards of Excellence Dinner – Windsor Campus
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
St. Clair College Centre for the Arts
Purchase your tickets online by April 1.

Awards of Excellence Dinner – London
Thursday, May 30, 2019
London Convention Centre
Purchase your tickets online by May 23 or
contact Natalie Wakabayashi to pay by speed code.