Celebrating your achievements

Congratulations to:

Dr. Javeed Sukhera, Assistant Professor in Psychiatry and Paediatrics, received a grant from AMS Healthcare. His project aims to design, implement and evaluate digital stigma reduction curricula which can be scaled and spread across diverse contexts. Read more

Dr. Rob Petrella, Professor, Family Medicine, and a team from the Centre for Studies in Family Medicine, will be initiating a community-based exercise program combining high-intensity exercise with mind-motor training with the goal of looking for ways to improve cardiovascular health and cognitive function, thanks to funding of $236,000 from the Heart and Stroke Foundation. Read more.

Dr. Vipin Bhayana, Associate Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine is the recipient of the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Ontario Society of Clinical Chemists. Read more.

Dr. Muriel Brackstone, Associate Professor, Oncology and Surgery was appointed as the Medical Director of the Norton & Lucille Wolfe Breast Care Program. In her role as Medical Director, Dr. Brackstone will provide strategic leadership for clinical and academic goals. She will work closely with Chair/Chiefs and physician leads in General Surgery, Plastics and Diagnostic Imaging, Breast Care Program staff and leaders to set goals and establish metrics, monitor results and develop improvements as needed, and together continue to pursue clinical and academic excellence within the Norton & Lucille Wolfe Breast Care Program for patients being served across Southwestern Ontario. Read more.

Dr. Leslie Scott, Chair/Chief of Paediatric Surgery, was announced as the President of the Canadian Association of Paediatric Surgery. she is the first female president of this association since its inception 50 years ago.

Dr. Luke Hartford,  PGY3, Surgery, is being recognized for his project on narcotic reduction strategies within general surgery and how the strategy is being adopted around the hospital and the province. Dr. Hartford will receive his award at the Patient Safety Awards.