Celebrating Your Achievements

Congratulations to…

The BMSc, Schulich Dentistry and Graduate Studies Classes of 2018 on their convocation. We wish you all the best in your future pursuits.

Marlys Koschinsky, PhD, was elected as Co-Chair of the 2022 Gordon Research Conference on Lipid Metabolism.

Dr. Jennifer Mandzia, Assistant Professor of Neurology, received a 2018 Recognition and Reward Award from the London Health Sciences Centre Professional Staff Organization. The award recognizes an individual who "enables exemplary patient care, teaching and research through leadership, collaboration and/or innovation."

Evelyn Vingilis, PhD, psychologist and Director of the Population and Community Health Unit, and Professor with the Departments of Family Medicine and Epidemiology and Biostatistics, on receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Canadian Association of Road Safety Professionals. Read full article.

Dr. Rob Hammond, who has been elected as the new Honorary President of the Hippocratic Council for two years, the representative body of Schulich medical students. The Honorary President provides valuable faculty feedback and support to the Hippocratic Council, and also sits on the Tachycardia Committee. Read full article.


In addition, we would like to congratualte the residents from the following programs on the completion of their postgraduate medical education training. Wishing you all the best.

Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery
Radiation Oncology
Endocrinology & Metabolism
Plastic Surgery
Diagnostic Radiology
Nuclear Medicine
Obstetrics & Gynecology
Cardiac Surgery
Family Medicine
General Surgery
Internal Medicine
Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
Orthopaedic Surgery
Vascular Surgery
Emergency Medicine
Critical Care Medicine
Geriatric Medicine


Congratulations to the Amoso Spring 2018 Opportunities Fund recipients.

Dr. Mahesh Nagappa, Anesthesia
Preoperative needs and postoperative satisfaction in patients undergoing elective surgical procedures – a quantitative evaluation – the first step in a program of research to help improve patient preparation for, and outcomes with, early postoperative home recovery

Dr. Jacques Raphael, Medical Oncology
Programmed death-ligand 1 expression on circulating tumor cells in advanced non-small cell lung cancer patients treated with checkpoint inhibitors

Dr. Constance A. Mackenzie, Medicine
Evaluating the efficacy and safety of cyclosporin as a novel treatment for amatoxin-containing mushroom poisoning

Dr. Anita Cheng, Neonatology 
Difficult Conversations Training Through Reflective Practice Initiative

Dr. Nina Suh, Surgery
Improving the Management of Scapholunate Injuries of the Wrist


Congratulations to the 23 Schulich Medicine & Dentistry faculty and staff who were recently honoured at the Western University long-service award ceremony. This award marks an impressive milestone of 25 years of servicing Western.

Congratulations to the following faculty and staff members:

Robert Buck
Professor Emeritus, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology

David F. Cechetto
Professor, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology

Rosemary A. Craen
Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine

Daniel Cuillerier
Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine

Qingping Feng
Professor, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology

Gregory B. Gloor
Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Claude Kortas
Professor, Department of Medicine

Barbara Pauline Lent
Professor, Department of Family Medicine

Doreen Matsui
Associate Professor, Department of Paediatrics

Thomas A. Miller
Associate Professor, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

David G. Murphy
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine

Julie A. Nichols
Department of Paediatrics

Cathy W. Pollard
Financial Administrative Assistant, Department of Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine

Janet Elizabeth Pope
Professor, Department of Medicine

Chellappa Rajgopal
Professor Emeritus, Department of Surgery

Robert S. Richards
Associate Professor, Department of Surgery

Darryl Gordon Saari
Lecturer, Schulich Dentistry

Alison Spouge
Associate Professor, Department of Medical Imaging

Patrick J. Teefy
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine

Francis Tekpetey
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Philip Leon Vandewalle
Adjunct Professor, Department of Family Medicine

Ramamohan Veluri
Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry

Evelyn R. Vingilis
Professor, Department of Family Medicine

Stephen J. Wetmore
Chair/Chief, Professor, Department of Family Medicine