Celebrating your achievements

Maria Drangova, PhD, and Dr. Jaimie Manlucu received funding from the Cardiac Arrhythmia Network of Canada (CANet).

Drangova, a professor in the Department of Medical Biophysics and a scientist at Robarts Research Institute, received a commercialization grant from CANet to further develop a catheter contact-force controller for cardiac ablation therapy. Currently, the motion of the heart as it beats and the patient breathes can affect the contact the catheter makes with the heart during the therapy delivery. This can result in ineffective lesions – nearly half the time patients return for a second “re-do” procedure. This device aims to adjust the position of the catheter tip to control that contact force.

Dr. Manlucu, an assistant professor in the Department of Medicine will be using the funds to determine how to better treat patients using Cardiac Resynchronization Therapy (CRT), by changing the placement of the pacemaker wire. The goal is to see whether this new way of placing the CRT wires will help heart function improve in patients with less severe electrical problems. Read more.

Congratulations to the 2018 Windsor Award of Excellence recipients.

Associate Dean's Award
Ms. Alex Carson
Dr. Wally Liang
Dr. Edward Sabga

Educator's Award
Dr. Tyceer Abouhassan
Dr. Selinda Berg 
Dr. Albert Schumacher

Learner Peer Award
Dr. Dema Kadri
Ms. Kara Picco
Ms. Karishma Desai

Dr. Colin Nisbet Award for Excellence in Emergency Medicine
Mr. Mason Leschyna

Windsor Family Medicine - Faculty of the Year Award
Dr. John Day

Windsor Sub Specialty Rotation - Faculty of the Year Award
Dr. Sheri Bergeron

Post Graduate Award for Academic Leadership
Dr. Carolyn Adams 

City of Windsor - Family Physician Award
Dr. Matthew Dibartolomeo

Community for Doctors Family Physician Award
Dr. Jessica Davie

Read more.

Dr. Mithu Sen, Assistant Dean, Faculty Equity & Wellness, was recognized by the international American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC) with the Best in Class Award for Innovation, Resilience, and Wellness in Faculty. This award is a recognition of her outstanding leadership in the creation and implementation of a faculty wellness program at Schulich Medicine & Dentistry. Read more.

Principal investigators, Dr. Anita Cheng, Paediatrics, Dr. Charles Ho, Psychiatry, and Dr. Josee Paradis, Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, received Faculty Support for Research in Education (FSRE) grants. These grants facilitate and enable scholarship in education at Schulich Medicine & Dentistry that has the potential to improve the state of knowledge and inform educational practice in medicine, dentistry, or the basic sciences. Read more.

Andrew Pruszynski, PhD, on receiving the inaugural Early Career Award from the Society for Neural Control of Movement. Pruszynski studies the complex interactions between the mechanical properties of the body and a highly distributed neural circuit. He is exploring how the nervous system handles and exploits these interactions when moving the arm and manipulating objects with the hands. Read more.

Dr. Daniel Pepe, PGY3, Academic Family Medicine, was recently recognized with the OMA Resident Achievement Award for his outstanding contribution to the advancement of postgraduate training, and the PARO Resident Trust Fund Teaching Award for providing outstanding clinical teaching experiences to junior residents and clinical clerks. Read more.

Congratulations to MClSc graduate and newly appointed faculty member Dr. Tanya Thornton. Dr. Thornton recently won the 2017 Mimi Divinsky Award for History and Narrative in Family Medicine sponsored by the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine of the College of Family Physicians of Canada for this piece. This award is named in memory of the late Dr. Mimi Divinsky for her role as a pioneer in narrative medicine in Canada, and it recognizes the best submitted narrative account of experiences in family medicine.