Celebrating your achievements

Congratulations to Drs. Scott McKay and Hariharan Iyer on receiving the Canadian Association for Medical Education (CAME) Certificate of Merit Award for 2017.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Proteus Innovation Competition. The winners, decided at the Proteus Live Pitch Finale on March 2nd, are Alexander Moszczynski, Andrew Kope, Patrick McCunn, Tomi Nano, Justin Michael, Maya Kumar, Terenz Escartin, Esther Lau, Ashley Hannon and Solmaz Karamdoust. Read More.

Congratulations to Dr. Peter Mugyenyi who will receive a Doctor of Science, honoris causa (DSc) as part of Schulich Medicine & Dentistry's MD convocation on Friday, May 12. Read More.

Anita Woods, PhD, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology has been awarded Western University's highest honour for inspiring active and deep learning in her students. Woods is the 2017 recipient of the Western Award for Innovations in Technology Enhanced Teaching. Read More.

Congratulations to Dr. Mark Awuku who was recognized in the Canadian Paediatric Society’s (CPS) annual review as a member who has made an outstanding contribution to CPS. Read More.

Congratulations to Drs. Ravi Taneja, Philip Jones, Davy Cheng, Ava-John Baptiste, Bob Kiaii, J Thain, Janet Martin, Valerie Schulz, Ramiro Arellano, Philip Jones, Ronit Lavi, Jason Chui, Daniel Bainbridge, Ramiro Arellano and Douglas Naudie who have been awarded The Academic Medical Organization of Southwestern Ontario (AMOSO) Innovation Fund Grants for their innovative research proposals. Read More.

Congratulations to Dr. Douglas Ross on being announced as the recipient of the fourth annual CSPS President’s Medal. The President’s Medal recognizes Dr. Ross’s extraordinary contribution to the betterment of the field of Plastic Surgery. Dr. Ross will receive his award at the 71st Annual Meeting of the CSPS in June.

Congratulations to Dr. Julio Martinez-Trujillo on receiving a John R. Evans Leaders Fund grant from the Canada Foundation for Innovation. Dr. Martinez-Trujillo will receive more than $200,000 for his project entitled 'Mapping the Primate Lateral Prefrontal Cortex Mesconnectome using Two-photon Excitation Microscopy'.

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2017 Professional Association of Residents of Ontario (PARO) Award recipients: Dr. Ian Ball (Excellence in Clinical Teaching Awards), Dr. Matthew Cohen (Resident Teaching Awards) and Tehmina Ahmad (Citizenship Awards for Medical Students).

Drs. Barbra de Vrijer, Kevin Coughlin and Genevieve Eastabrook have been awarded a $50,000 Children’s Health Foundation grant for their study 'Preventing childhood obesity: Improving metabolic health in the first 1000 days of life'.

Congratulations to Drs. Basim Abu Rafea and Angelos Vilos, who have been awarded an AMOSO Innovation Fund grant for their project 'Molecular Validation of Methods used to Select Embryos for Single Embryo Transfer (SET) for the Treatment of Infertility'.

Schulich Medicine & Dentistry trainees took home top prizes at the Imaging Network Ontario (ImNO) 2017 Symposium earlier this month. Congratulations to Dante Capaldi, Jason Kai, Daniel Gelman, Heeseung Lim, Androu Abdalmalak, Fiona Li, Lawrence Yip, Justin Laing, Rebecca Sullivan and Dickson Wong. Read More.

Hundreds of participants came together for London Health Research Day (LHRD) to celebrate and discuss the health research taking place in London, Ontario. Congratulations to the following participants who received awards: Andrea Di Sebastiano, PhD, Ivan Kosik, Milica Krstic, Emily Pawlak, Marie Sarabusky, Dr. Marat Slessarev, Julia Sunstrum, Eric Wright, Charles Ishak, Krista Vincent, Scott Findlay, Katie Parkins, Karen Dunkerley and Jacob Aguirre. Read More.

Congratulations to Haider Hassan, a Biochemistry PhD candidate in the lab of Joe Torchia, PhD, Departments of Biochemistry and Oncology, for receiving the 2017 WORLDiscoveries Scholarship for Commercialization/Entrepreneurship. Hassan has been recognized for his project on rapid detection of Ebola virus in blood.