Celebrating your achievements

Congratulations to the Schulich Medicine & Dentistry faculty and staff members who received a Western Long-service Award: Peter Gerard Blake, Jane Yorke Edwards, Sahza Hatibovic-Kofman, Nicholas Joseph Victor Hogg, Janice Koenig, Michael Joseph Kovacs, Gary S. Shaw, Mark D. Vincent and Andrew J. Watson. Western Long-service Awards are presented to employees who have served 25 years or more at Western University. Read the full article.

Congratulations to the 14 recipients of the Schulich Medicine & Dentistry Internal Graduate Awards: Benjamin Kolisnyk, Jason Lee, Tyler Beveridge, Karen Dunkerley, Christopher Norris, Renee Tamming, Niveen Fulcher, Alex Major, Dante Capaldi, Brennan Dirk, Katie Parkins, Ashley Makela, Maria Sancho-Gonzalez, Ali Attaran. Read the full article.

Congratulations to the award winners from the Paul Harding Research Awards Day: Resident Category: Megan McKeown (first prize), Robyn Carnell and Matt Cohen (second prize); Graduate Student Category: Samantha Medwid (first prize), Nicole Edwards (second prize); Clinical/Postdoctoral Fellow Category: Maria Wu (first prize); Poster Category: Reza Khazaee (first prize), Sheryl Choo (second prize).

Congratulations to Dr. Al Getgood who received the Albert Trillant Young Investigator’s Award at the 2017 ISAKOS Congress in Shanghai, China. This award provides recognition for a young researcher who has done outstanding clinical laboratory research contributing to the understanding, care or prevention of injuries to the knee. Dr. Getgood received the award in recognition of the Stability Study.

Congratulations to the award winners from the Oncology Research and Education Day: Poster Award Winners: Ingrid Qemo, Emily Rodrigues, Katie Parkins, Adrian Buensuceso, Andrew Deweyert and Parima Saxena; Oral presentation award winners: Kara Ruicci and Peter Martin; Department of Oncology’s Excellence in Academic and Teaching Awards: Dr. Sara Kuruvilla, Dr. Jeff Cao, Dr. Jonathon Izawa, Dr. Alison Allan, Dr. Junaid Yousuf; Denise Power Cancer Research Staff Award: Carl Postenka.

Congratulations to Dr. Jerry Battista for receiving the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists (COMP) 2017 Gold medal. The Gold Medal is the highest award given by COMP and recognizes an active or retired member who has worked mainly in Canada, has had an outstanding career and has made a significant contribution to the field of medical physics in Canada. Read the full article.

Congratulations to Dr. Mary Mathews, Resident in Medical Oncology, who was recently announced as the winner of the Dr. Ed Brecevic Award for Compassionate Care.

Congratulations to Dr. George Athwal, Associate Professor, Division of Orthopaedic Surgery on being selected for the 2016 J. Édouard Samson Award, the premier award for orthopaedic research in Canada, in recognition of his outstanding research contributions. Dr. Athwal will present his research at the 2017 Canadian Orthopaedic Association’s Annual General Meeting.

Congratulations to Dr. Jim Johnson, Professor and Affiliated Institute Scientist, Division of Orthopaedic Surgery, on receiving this year’s Engineering Award for Excellence in Research. Dr. Johnson has been a faculty member at Western since 1998 and has made significant contributions to the Departments of Mechanical & Materials Engineering and the Department of Surgery. The award is in recognition of Dr. Johnson’s outstanding international reputation for his contributions to research.

Congratulations to Dr. Douglas Ross, Associate Professor and Chair/Chief, Division of Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, on being announced as the recipient of the fourth annual Canadian Society of Plastic Surgeons President’s Medal. The President’s Medal recognizes Dr. Ross’s extraordinary contribution to the betterment of the field of Plastic Surgery. Dr. Ross will received his award at the 71st Annual Meeting of the CSPS in June.

Congratulations to Dr. Emil Schemitsch, Professor and Chair/Chief, Department of Surgery, on receiving the CORL grant from the Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation toward his project, “DECIPHER: Determinants of Clinically Important Outcomes following Proximal Humerus Fractures in the Elder Population: A National Cohort” which was selected from among 20 applications. Dr. Schemitsch’s funding application for his project, “Outcomes in Distal Radius Fractures: A Multicenter Prospective Cohort Study” was also approved, and he will receive $79,050 from the Orthopaedic Trauma Association and Smith & Nephew.