Celebrating our achievements

To include awards and achievements in The Pulse please email your submission to jessica.mcgaw@schulich.uwo.ca. Submissions are accepted on an ongoing basis throughout the year and will be featured in the following month's newsletter.

Congratulations to the recipients of the SRTP awards:

  • Jake Armstrong (Supervisor: Dr. David O'Gorman) - Dr. Glen S. Wither Award for Research for his project titled "Dupuytren’s Disease: toward an in vitro model of fibrosis"
  • Steven Wong (Supervisor: Dr. Chris McIntyre) - Dr. Cindy M. Hutnik Award for his project titled "Comprehenive Multi-Model Imaging to assess End-Organ Damage in the Hemodialysis Patient"
  • Roshan Navaratnam (Supervisor: Dr. Lakshman Gunaratnam) - Dr. L. DeWitt Wilcox Award for his project titled "Role of kidney injury molecule (KIM-1) in delayed graft function after kidney transplantation"
  • Dominic LeBlanc (Supervisor: Dr. Luc Dubois) - Horace and Clarice Wankel Award for Cardiovascular Research for his project titled "Is patient satisfaction improved by showing patients their imaging findings prior to undergoing vascular surgery?"

Dr. Stewart Harris has been awarded the 2016 Outstanding Family Medicine Research Article Award for Impact of a quality improvement program on primary healthcare in Canada: A Mixed-method Evaluation. This award is made possible through the generosity of donors to the Research and Education Foundation (REF) of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC).

Dr. Michel Lacerte, Associate Professor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, has been named the winner of the OBA’s 2016 Ron Ellis Award for Excellence in Workers’ Compensation Law. The award recognizes exceptional contributions and achievement in the field of workers’ compensation law.

Congratulations to Dr. Moira Stewart, Distinguished University Professor, on her upcoming retirement. After 38 years as a faculty member at Western University, Dr. Stewart will retire on March 1, 2017. Following retirement, Dr. Stewart will continue her association with the Department of Family Medicine and continue her research in the Centre for Studies in Family Medicine as a Professor Emerita. Dr. Stewart is recognized for her outstanding achievements and contributions to the School.  

Congratulations to Drs. Allison Meiwald and Shane Smith. They received Top Faculty Presenter and Top Resident Presenter for their involvement in the Transition to Residency program. Read more.

Congratulations to Dr. Judith Belle Brown who will receive the 2016 Family Medicine Researcher of the Year Award, and has been invited to make a special presentation during Family Medicine Innovations in Research and Education Day, held in conjunction with Family Medicine Forum 2016 in Vancouver, on November 9, 2016. Read more.

Congratulations to Dr. Neil Duggal and Lorelei Lingard, PhD, who are the recipients of the 2016 Dean's Research Initiative Grant awards. Read more.

Marjorie Johnson, PhD, assistant professor, has been named one of six outstanding university teachers by the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA). Read more.

Congratulations to Amanda Sauvé, BMSc'13, Medicine Class of 2018. She was recently awarded The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame award. Read more.