Celebrating our achievements

Congratulations to Stefan Everling, PhD, and Grace Parraga, PhD, on being selected as two of Western University's Faculty Scholars. This honour recognizes their achievements in teaching or research. Read the full article via Western News.

Congratulations to Sohrab Naushad Ali, Jessica Blom, Charmainne Cruje, Kathryn Manning and Ajay Rajaram for earning a spot in the Western University Top 20 3MT Final. The final took place on March 24 where Ajay Rajaram placed second overall and Jessica Blom placed third overall.

Congratulations to eight Schulich Medicine students who were presented with awards at the annual History of Medicine Days Conference in Calgary. Public Health/Women’s History awards were presented to Ranjanna Bhattacharjee, Medicine Class of 2018 (Third Place); Vanessa DeMelo, Medicine Class of 2017 (Second Place); and Nick Cormier, Medicine Class of 2017 (First Place). Best Use of Audio/Visual awards were presented to Daniel Stojanovic, Medicine Class of 2018 (Third Place); Nicole Arseneau, Medicine Class of 2018 (Second Place); and Adam Kwinter, Medicine Class of 2019 (First Place). The Best Poster Presentation award was presented to Michael Chen, Medicine Class of 2018 (Third Place), and the Best Overall Presentation award was presented to North de Pencier, Medicine Class of 2019 (Third Place). Read the full article.

Two Schulich Dentistry alumni received the Service Award from the Ontario Dental Association in 2015. The Service Award recognizes outstanding contributions to dentistry through activity or service at a component society, specialty section or provincial level for a period of ten years or more. Congratulations to Drs. Donna Green, DDS’79, and Arthur Worth, DDS’78. Read the full article.

Congratulations to Dr. Samuel Asfaha, an assistant professor in the Departments of Medicine and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, on receiving $300,000 in funding over three years through the CIHR Clinician Scientist – Phase 2 program. Read the full article.

Congratulations to Ravi Menon, PhD, for being named the March 2016 Researcher of the Month by Canadians for Health Research (CHR). Menon received a special feature on the CHR website.

Congratulations to Anna Farias, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, Schulich Windsor Campus, and Dr. Sharan Goobie, Department of Paediatrics, who successfully completed the Faculty Development Teaching Certificate.

Correction from February 2016 Celebrating our achievements article:
Congratulations to Dr. Subrata Chakrabarti, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, for receiving three years of funding from the Canadian Diabetes Association for his project entitled Pathogenesis of diabetic retinopathy.