Mahmud Bani


In memory of an old friend - Mahmud Bani 1964-2016

Dr. Mahmud Bani joined the Graduate Program in the Department of Anatomy at UWO in 1994 to pursue his PhD with Christian Naus. Following his Ph.D., Dr. Bani accepted an NSERC post-doctoral fellowship at Robarts Research Institute in London in 1999, and was recruited as a Research Officer at the National Research Council Canada in Ottawa in 2002, becoming the Leader of the In Vitro Pharmacology Team. As a researcher at the NRC with an adjunct appointment in the Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine and the Brain and Mind Research Institute at the University of Ottawa, Dr. Bani established an active research team of post-doctoral trainees, technical staff and students in the field of stem cells and neurogenesis. In addition to key publications and reviews in this area, Dr. Bani was invited as a speaker to many regional, national and international conferences and institutes. During his career, Dr. Bani was an excellent mentor to many trainees, and taught a number of courses in neuroanatomy, histology and cell biology at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Dr. Bani was recognized by receiving many awards throughout his career. He was directly involved in several international collaborations such as Canada-US East coast and Canada-China Stem Cell-Regenerative Medicine Initiatives with scientists from Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine, Guangzhou Institutes of Biomedicine and Health, Peking University and China National Center for Biotechnology Development. He was an active member of the Ontario Stem Cells Initiative (OSCI), NSERC Industrial R&D Post-Doctoral Fellowship (PDF) College of Reviewers and the Editorial and Review Boards of several journals.

While at UWO, Mahmud received numerous awards, including the C.P. Leblond Research Presentation Award, CFBS 1996, Graduate Student Teaching Award, UWO, 1997-1998, the Arthur Ham Award, Canadian Association of Anatomy, Neuroscience and Cell Biology, 1999, the Research Publication Award of the Canadian Association of Anatomy, Neuroscience and Cell Biology, Chairs, 1999, and the Keith Moore Award in Anatomy, UWO, 2000.