CIHR grant success! Six faculty in ACB received grants in the March 2014 competition.

Congratulations again to all successful CIHR operating grant applicants:

Trevor Shepherd “Functional interrogation of LKB1-AMPK signalling as a stress mediator in metastatic ovarian cancer” was awarded $95,676 per year for 4 years

Doug Hamilton “Development of Matricellular Protein-Containing Granulation Tissue Biomimetic Scaffolds to Enhance Skin Regeneration” was awarded $144,708 per year for 5 years

Brian Allman “Tinnitus, Chronic Stress and Auditory Cortex Plasticity” was awarded $107,633 per year for 5 years

Marco Prado “Regulation of neuronal resilience in Alzheimer's disease by the STI1/Prion protein complex” was awarded $179,340 per year for 5 years

Patrick LaJoie was co-PI on Martin Duennwald’s CIHR application “Cellular responses to protein misfolding in aging cells”, together they got awarded $104,445 per year for 5 years

Alison L. Allan, Eric Winquist (Co-PIs) were awarded a grant by the London Regional Cancer Catalyst Grants Program “Prospective validation of circulating tumor cells (CTCs) and circulating endothelial cells (CECs) as prognostic biomarkers in clear cell renal cancer” Co-Investigators: Maria Vieito Villar (PhD student in Allan lab), Henry Conter, Nicholas Power, and Stephen Pautler. Amount and Term: $30,000; 2014-2015