Announcement: Celebrating the 2023 Awards of Excellence recipients

The 2023 Awards of Excellence recipients enrich the learning community culture at Schulich Medicine & Dentistry every day. Their commitment to the School’s mission and values, their innovative approaches to their work, and their leadership distinguish their contributions.

Congratulations to each of the 2023 award winners:

Schulich Awards of Excellence for Faculty

Schulich Award of Excellence for Faculty in Community/Distributed Sites

Dr. Henry Chapeskie, Family Medicine
Dr. Kashif Ahmed, Family Medicine
Dr. Sean Ryan, Family Medicine
Dr. Quoc Tran, Medicine

Schulich Faculty Mentorship Award

Dr. Patricia Hall, Department of Psychiatry

Schulich Excellence in Education Awards for Graduate/Postgraduate

Schulich Leader Award
Dr. Anita Cave, Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine
Nica Borradaile, PhD, Physiology and Pharmacology

Schulich Educator Award
Andrew Zhang, MClSc, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Dr. Anna Gunz, Paediatrics
Dr. Jeffrey Yu, Medicine 
Dr. Sonja Payne, Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine
Tyler Beveridge, PhD, Anatomy and Cell Biology

Schulich Excellence in Education Awards for Undergraduate Education

Distinguished Leader Award
Dr. Michele Weir, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Schulich Leader Award
Christine Bell, PhD, Physiology & Pharmacology

Schulich Educator Award
Dr. Scott McKay, Family Medicine
Wataru Inoue, PhD, Physiology and Pharmacology

Schulich Awards of Excellence for Staff

Continuous Excellence Individual Award

Tannis Radcliffe, Office of the Dean

Continuous Excellence Team Award

Bela Franze and Suzy Mendes, Department of Psychiatry

Innovation Award

Stephanie Durnin, Dentistry

Inspirational Leadership Award

Lisa Johnson, Dentistry

Newcomer Award

Karyn Bailey, Anatomy & Cell Biology and Department of Medical Biophysics

Spirit Award

Margaret Dow, Department of Oncology

Dean’s Awards of Excellence for Faculty

Researcher of the Year

Dr. Doug Fraser, Paediatrics 

Community Outreach

Sarah McLean, PhD, Anatomy & Cell Biology

Distinguished Leader in Research

Dr. Richard Kim, Department of Medicine

Preclinical & Translational Research

Alison Allan, PhD, Anatomy & Cell Biology and Oncology

Research and Innovation

Early Career
(Basic) Jibran Khokhar, PhD, Anatomy & Cell Biology
(Clinical) Dr. Kristin Clemens, Department of Medicine

Mid Career
(Basic) Jeremy Burton, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology
(Clinical) Dr. Lillian Barra, Department of Medicine

Senior Career
(Basic) Stefan Everling, PhD, Physiology & Pharmacology
(Clinical) Dr. Robert Teasell, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

We will be honouring our award recipients at the 2023 Awards of Excellence Dinner on May 31, 2023, at RBC Place London.

Purchase your tickets to attend.

Read about past award winners here.