Announcement: Celebrating the 2020 Awards of Excellence recipients

As educators, researchers, innovators and leaders, the 2020 Awards of Excellence recipients are making a difference at the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry.

This year, we celebrate 42 award recipients. It is with great pride that we recognize and honour their achievements.

“We are proud to continue the tradition of honouring and celebrating our faculty and staff,” said Dr. Davy Cheng, Acting Dean. “The Awards of Excellence provide us with a special opportunity to recognize our colleagues for their outstanding contributions in support of the School’s mission of excellence.”

Schulich Awards of Excellence for Staff

Spirit Award

Barbara Green, Biochemistry
Kay Hickey, Dean’s Office
Seidy Rayo, Internationalization

Continuous Excellence Individual Award

Karen Burrell, Paediatrics
Tom Chrones, Anatomy and Cell Biology
Tracy Henebry, Psychiatry
Janet Holmes, Psychiatry
Courtney Newnham-Kanas, Postgraduate Medical Education

Innovation Award

Danielle Dilkes, Undergraduate Medical Education

Inspirational Leadership Award

Heather Thomas, Alumni Relations & Development

Dean’s Awards of Excellence for Faculty

Individual Faculty Award

Dr. Tracey Crumley, Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Paula Foster, PhD, Robarts Research Institute
Jefferson Frisbee, PhD, Medical Biophysics
Bekim Sadikovic, PhD, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Junior Faculty Award

Silvia Penuela, PhD, Anatomy and Cell Biology

Lifetime Achievement Award

Chris Brandl, PhD, Biochemistry
Dr. Gerald Brock, Surgery
Dr. Thomas Freeman, Family Medicine

Dr. John D. Brown Memorial Resident Award

Dr. Amanda Grant-Orser, Medicine

Schulich Excellence in Education Awards

Distinguished Leader Award

Dr. Chris Watling, Clinical Neurological Sciences

Schulich Leader Award

Dr. Kathryn Roth, Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Robert Stodilka, PhD, Medical Biophysics
Kelly Summers, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology
Dr. Julie Ann Van Koughnett, Surgery
Dr. Sreelatha Varapravan, Psychiatry

Schulich Educator Award

Dr. Caitlin Cassidy, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Dr. Nancy Chan, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Dr. Patricia Hall, Psychiatry
Dr. Hariharan Iyer, Medicine
Dr. Mary Jenkins, Clinical Neurological Sciences
Dr. Keith McIntosh, Medicine
Dr. Darren Van Dam, Family Medicine
Dr. Jamie Wickett, Family Medicine

Schulich Award of Excellence for Faculty in Community/Distributed Sites

Dr. Miriam Mann, Medicine
Dr. Geoffrey Mills, Medicine
Dr. Kellie Scott, Family Medicine
Dr. Tanya Thornton, Family Medicine

Schulich Continuing Dental Education Educator Award

Dr. Mark Darling, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Schulich Continuing Medical Education Educator Award

Dr. Behzad Hassani, Medicine
Dr. Rahul Ojha, Paediatrics

Schulich Faculty Development Award

Dr. Eric Wong, Family Medicine

Schulich Faculty Mentorship Award

Dr. Donald Lee, Clinical Neurological Sciences

Learn more about plans for the Awards of Excellence celebration

View the list of Awards of Excellence recipients from the School’s Windsor Campus