Awards group photo

Research Day Awards

Awarded for outstanding student poster presentations at Schulich Dentistry’s annual Research Day. Recipients will represent Schulich Dentistry at upcoming research conferences.

ADA Foundation Travel Award

Guessy Wang, Class of 2017

Supervised by Drs. Harinder Sandhu and Richard Bohay, and Yara Hosein, PhD

A retrospective clinical and radiographic analysis of dental implants placed and restored in an undergraduate dental program

ADA Dental Student Research Conference in Maryland

CDA/DENTSPLY Research Travel Award

Jennifer Archibald, Class of 2017
Supervised by Dr. Sahza Hatibovic-Kofman

Long-term clinical study of hydrophobic and hydrophilic sealant materials in pediatric patients

CDA National Oral Health Conference in Canada

Hinman Student Research Travel Award

David Feere, Class of 2018
Supervised by Dr. Andrew Leask

Effect of matrix stiffness on fibroblast gene expression

Hinman Student Research Symposium in Memphis, Tennessee

Fall Awards

More than 20 awards were presented to faculty and students at the annual Schulich Dentistry Fall Awards Reception in November.

Faculty Awards

Timothy Wilson, PhD, was awarded the W.W. Wood Faculty Award, recognizing excellence in dental education. This special award commemorates Dr. Bill Wood, whose academic career exemplified dedication to research, teaching and service.

Dr. Manfred Friedman received the C.Y. Lung Award, recognizing outstanding contributions made by a part-time faculty member to the undergraduate dental program.

Class of 2017

Jennifer Archibald
Canadian Academy of Periodontology Award;
Dentistry Class of 1975 Scholarship;
Schulich Dentistry Prize in Professionalism and Ethics

Chloe Grondin
Academy of Operative Dentistry Award

Jessica Gubernat
Elgin Dental Association Award in Oral Surgery

Oies Hussein
Association of Prosthodontists of Ontario Award

Peter Kim
Ontario Dental Association Proficiency Award

Vida Lam
Western Faculty Association Scholarship

Sara Worth
Centennial Orthodontic and Paediatric Dentistry Award; International College of Dentists Award

Class of 2018

Tahir Ali
Laura Stakiw Memorial Award

Sydney Cormier
Centennial Orthodontic and Paediatric Dentistry Award

Carolyn Karr
Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario Scholarship Second Year;
Dr. Donald MacLean Award in Oral Radiology

Michael Rullo
Toronto Crown & Bridge Study Club Award

Class of 2019

Alexandra Bonin
Dentistry Class of 1975 Scholarship

Brittney Leeming
Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario Dean’s Award of Excellence

Thomas Proulx
Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario Scholarship First Year;
General Medicine Award

Andrei Zaharia
Dr. Sam Ioannidis Memorial Award;
Toronto Crown & Bridge Study Club Award