Canada Research Chairs renewed

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

  • Morris Karmazyn, Tier 1 CRC in Experimental Cardiology
  • Ravi Menon, Tier 1 CRC in Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging
  • Sean Cregan, Tier 2 CRC in Neurodegeneration and Repair

The Chairs program has been designed to encourage and promote top research and innovation in universities. Tier 1 Chairs are awarded $200,000 annually for seven years to fund their research and are awarded to outstanding researchers who have developed reputations as world leaders in their fields. Tier 2 Chairholders are awarded $100,000 annually for five years and are recognized as exceptional and emerging researchers with the potential to lead their respective fields.

The other Western Chairholders are:

  • Paul Beamish, Tier 1 CRC in International Management
  • Elizabeth Gillies, Tier 2 CRC in Biomaterials Synthesis
  • Fred Longstaffe, Tier 1 CRC in Stable Isotope Science