Daniel B. Hardy

Dan HardyScientist, Division of Maternal, Fetal & Newborn Health, Children's Health Research Institute
Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology and Physiology & Pharmacology, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University
Western-DSB, 2023 (Office)
519.661.2111 x 84238



Dr. Daniel B. Hardy is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Ob/Gyn and Physiology & Pharmacology. He is also a Scientist with the Children’s Health Research Institute (CHRI).  Dr. Hardy, born and raised in London, completed his BSc (Co-Op Biology) in 1997 from the University of Waterloo. In 2003, he obtained his PhD in the area of placental glucocorticoid metabolism within the Department of Physiology at UWO, under the supervision of Dr. Kaiping Yang. His research interests then led him to pursue a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas under the mentorship of Dr. Carole Mendelson whereby he elucidated some of the mechanisms leading to both term and preterm birth in women. Since 2008, Dr. Hardy’s laboratory focuses upon the molecular mechanisms underlying how impaired fetal development can predispose offspring to metabolic deficits in adulthood.  Understanding this is imperative to develop interventions in early life to reduce the incidence and severity of these diseases long-term.  His research group has identified changes in nuclear receptor activity, epigenetic influences (e.g. posttranslational histone modifications, microRNAs) and endoplasmic reticulum (ER) stress stemming from IUGR which lead to altered long-term liver metabolism. Recently his laboratory group has examined how drugs in pregnancy (i.e. nicotine, D9-THC, and SSRI’s) impact long-term metabolism in the offspring. Dr. Hardy has been supported by CIHR, NSERC, CFI, Women’s Development Council, and the Molly Towell Perinatal Research Foundation.  In 2011, Dr. Hardy has received the Perkin-Elmer Early Career Award by the Perinatal Research Society and was named Children’s Health Research Institute’s “Scientist of the Year” in 2014.