Award: Douglas Bocking Award recipients announced

The Douglas Bocking Award is one of the highest teaching awards at the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry. Created in honour of the former Dean of Medicine and Vice Provost, it is presented annually to a faculty member at the School who has made an outstanding contribution to the development of medical education during the past four years. 

This year, the recipients for the 2020 and 2021 Bocking Awards were announced at during the Doctor of Medicine Program graduation celebration .Congratulations to Drs. Robert Stein (2020) and Charys Martin (2021), the recipients. .  

Stein is renowned as an educator in the Doctor of Medicine program, and as a health-care leader, scholar and provider, serving vulnerable populations and as a student advocate, excelling in mentoring and supporting the health, career success and personal wellness of our student body.

As a two-term Chair of Clerkship, he redefined this program signature course, while prioritizing students. Under his leadership, Clerkship was consistently the most highly valued learning and career-shaping course in the MD Program. His most recent work as leader has been supporting students in need, promoting and advancing wellness while implementing processes for their career development as the Assistant Dean (Undergraduate) Learner Experience.

Martin has been instrumental in moving the MD Program curriculum to a new learning paradigm since 2017. She supported new curriculum and courses across the foundational years of medical student education, as well as a successful transition to online learning at the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic.

As a former course Chair, she has been a leader in integrating clinical disciplines while grounding in the basic sciences. An effective teacher and role model for peers, she is highly valued for her delivery in large and small group sessions and her use of strategies to drive critical thinking and inquiry.