Honour: Dr. Bertha Garcia named an Honorary Fellow of the American College of Dentists

The American College of Dentists (ACD) has awarded Dr. Bertha Garcia, Acting Vice Dean & Director, Dentistry, an Honorary Fellowship for her exceptional contributions as a leader in dentistry education. 

An Honorary Fellowship is the College’s highest honour that can be presented to individuals who are not dentists but have significantly impacted dentistry through their work in leadership, education, research or public health.

The ACD’s Board of Regents selected Garcia based on a nomination from Drs. Paul Romanson, DDS’72, Drew Smith, Adjunct Clinical Professor, Dentistry, and Karin van Ryswyk, DDS’86.

“After nearly two years as a physician working with and leading a large group of dentists and dental professionals, to hear that they want me to ‘belong’ as a member of the dentistry community is humbling and overwhelming,” Garcia shared. “When I got the call from Dr. Romanson I was moved beyond words; I can’t think of greater honour.”

The American College of Dentists is the oldest major honorary organization for dentists. Their mission is to encourage excellence in and enhance the profile of dentistry through initiatives including ethics summits, leadership symposia and commendation for dentists through the ACD Fellowship and other awards.

Garcia, who first joined the School in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, was appointed as Acting Dean & Director, Dentistry, in June 2019. An established leader at the School, she had previously held positions as the Chair/Chief of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine and Vice Dean, Education. 

She has been recognized as an exceptional educator through numerous local and national education awards, including the Dean's Award of Excellence in Teaching from Schulich Medicine & Dentistry, the Edward G. Pleva Award from Western University and the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations citation for outstanding contribution to university teaching. She is also the recipient of the prestigious 3M Teaching Fellowship, given to exceptional leaders with a commitment to improving university education across disciplines. 

She will have her Honorary Fellowship conferred at the ACD 2021 General Meeting and Convocation on October 14, 2021.