Award: 2020 Lawson Impact Awards announced

Lawson Health Research Institute’s annual Impact Awards celebrate the contributions and accomplishments of scientists, staff, trainees and partners toward the pursuit of research excellence and innovation at the Institute.

Drs. Chris McIntyre, Cheryl Forchuk and Bekim Sadikovic from the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry were among this year’s recipients.

Dr. McIntyre, Professor in the Departments of Medicine, Medical Biophysics and Paediatrics, received the Scientist of the Year Award, recognizing his sustained contributions to his field of study, the development of his trainees and furthering the impact of his research. As the director of the Kidney Clinical Research Unit, Dr. McIntyre demonstrated leadership in his fields of nephrology and applied imaging.

Dr. Forchuk, Professor in Western University’s Arthur Labatt Family School of Nursing with a cross-appointment in the Department of Psychiatry, won the Innovation Award, for her project ‘Preventing Hospital Discharge into Homelessness: No Fixed Address,’ streamlining housing supports for at-risk patients. This award is reserved for scientists whose research translates into practice, advancing health care services. 

The Dr. Joseph Gilbert Research Contribution Award was awarded to Dr. Sadikovic, Associate Professor in the Department of Pathology and  Laboratory Medicine. The recipient of the award is selected on the basis of a single publication with a considerable research impact. Dr. Sadikovic is recognized for his publication, “Diagnostic Utility of Genome-wide DNA Methylation Testing in Genetically Unsolved Individuals with Suspected Hereditary Conditions” in the American Journal of Human Genetics.

See the full list of the 2020 Lawson Impact Award recipients here.