Award: Internal Medicine residents recognized for wellness leadership

Internal Medicine residents Drs. Melissa Schorr and Linda Wang recently received the first Dr. Shilpa Jain Award for Leadership in Resident Wellness.

The award recognizes resident leaders who take an interest in and action toward bettering the health of their colleagues and peers. It is named for Dr. Shilpa Jain, a former internal medicine resident and the inaugural leader of the Internal Medicine Residency Program Wellness Committee.

This past year, Drs. Schorr and Wang helped organize the Internal Medicine Resident Wellness Week, which included a cooking class, yoga, a group dinner and financial workshop, and also led a wellness academic half day focused on sharing personal stories and experiences.

The Award was presented at the Internal Medicine end-of-year banquet in June.

In recognition of their contributions, Drs. Schorr and Wang will receive funding from the School's Learner Equity & Wellness Office to attend one of two annual conferences related to resident education and physician health - the International Conference on Resident Education or the Canadian Conference on Physician Health.

Congratulations to Drs. Schorr and Wang on this achievement.