Awards: LHSC's President Award recipients honoured

Murray Glendining, President and CEO of London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC) recognized 31 nominees and awarded seven individuals with the 2017 President’s Awards, including three who are also faculty members at Schulich Medicine & Dentistry. Congratulations to Drs. Drew Thompson, Adam Dukelow and Ken Leslie.

“This year’s President’s Award recipients are a group of remarkable individuals who are truly making a positive difference within and beyond our hospital walls,” said Glendining in a statement.

The President’s Award for Innovation recognizes an individual or team who has demonstrated innovation capabilities that have made significant advances to the organization. This year’s recipient is Dr. Drew Thompson, Emergency Medicine Physician, who was nominated for introducing Point of Care Ultrasound into the Emergency Department at LHSC. POCUS allows for ultrasound imaging at the bedside, reducing diagnostic uncertainty, limiting radiation exposure, and expediting clinical decisions without requiring patients to leave the emergency department for testing.

Established to honour the leadership legacy of the late Dr. Murray Girotti, the President's Award for Physician Leadership recognizes physicians who demonstrate the leadership qualities he exemplified. There are two recipients of this award this year: Dr. Adam Dukelow, Chief of the Department of Emergency Medicine and Dr. Ken Leslie, Chief of the Department of Surgery. Dr. Dukelow was nominated by his colleagues for leading the Emergency Department System Transformation project. Dr. Leslie was nominated for his contributions to the Division of General Surgery including the Rapid Standardized Operating Room (RAPSTOR) project.

Now in its eleventh year, the President’s Award Program at LHSC celebrates staff, physicians and volunteers for their efforts in a number of categories, recognizing those who go above and beyond to serve patients, colleagues, and the community.

Also recognized with President’s Awards were:

Darren Connolly, a family advisor in LHSC’s Children’s Hospital Paediatric Family Resource Centre - The President’s Award for Community Service

David Payne, Furniture and Equipment Specialist in Facilities Management & Josie Swan-Merrison, a Therapeutic Recreation Specialist in the Prevention and Early Intervention Program for Psychosis (PEPP)- The President's Awards for Living Our Core Values

Sherri Lawson, Director, Inpatient Mental Health - The President's Award for Leadership