Top presenters awarded for involvement with Transition 2 Residency

During the months of July and August, first-year residents take part in a weekly workshop series called Transition to Residency (T2R) that helps facilitate the challenging move from medical school to residency.

The content covered during these crucial first weeks for residents includes includes common calls from shock and acute dyspnea to chest pain and neuro emergencies. And the program wouldn’t be possible without the dedicated faculty members and residents who help facilitate the sessions.

This year, three awards will be presented to highlight some of the faculty members and residents who went above and beyond throughout the program. Congratulations to Dr. Allison Meiwald for receiving the award for Top Faculty Presenter and Dr. Shane Smith for receiving the award for Top Resident Presenter.

Dr. Meiwald said receiving this award validates the time and energy she put into the program, and confirms that her teaching style is working.

“I love to teach in any venue, but what I love about the T2R series is that we are equipping residents with those clinical pearls to get through those first few months of residency that can be a little overwhelming,” she said. “We’re showing them that they do have the abilities and skills to help people, and I really enjoy being part of something that helps inspire self-confidence.”

As a third-year General Surgery resident, Dr. Smith feels fortunate to be able to contribute to the T2R program and is grateful to receive such positive feedback.

“T2R gave me the chance to reflect on the lessons I learned when I was a first-year resident, and the opportunity to pass on those pearls,” he said. “It’s very satisfying when someone tells me that my teaching helped them treat one of their patients.”

An award will also be given for the Top Seminar, which focused on the topic Abdo Pain/GI Bleed. Congratulations to Drs. Julie Ann Van Koughnett, Benson Thomas, Zaid Khot, Cassandra Townsend and Shane Smith for receiving this award.

Recipients in General Surgery (Drs. Smith, Van Koughnett, and Khot) will be presented with their award by Dr. Chris Watling on Wednesday, November 16 at 7:15 a.m. at University Hospital, Auditorium B. Dr. Thomas will be presented with his award by Dr. Watling on Friday, November 18 at 12:00 p.m. at Victoria Hospital, Sumner Auditorium. Dr. Meiwald will receive her award from Dr. Watling on November 10 at 9:00 a.m. at University Hospital, Auditorium B. The other award presentations will be confirmed in the coming weeks.