Celebrating excellence at the Schulich Dentistry Fall Awards Reception

With great celebration and School pride, more than 25 awards were presented to faculty and students at the annual Schulich Dentistry Fall Awards Reception on November 17.

Faculty Awards

Dr. Mark Darling was awarded the W.W. Wood Faculty Award, recognizing excellence in dental education. This special award commemorates Dr. Bill Wood, whose academic career exemplified dedication to research, teaching and service.

Dr. Esperanza Bohorquez received the C.Y. Lung Award, recognizing outstanding contributions made by a part-time faculty member to the undergraduate dental program.

Dr. Tarek Ek-Sayegh was presented with the American Academy of Periodontology Educator Award for his contributions to the undergraduate periodontology program.


Dr. Karl Cuddy
Wesley and Jean Dunn Fellowship

Class of 2016

Jennifer Boogaards
Centennial Orthodontics and Paediatric Dentistry Award
Western Faculty Association Scholarship

Ziana Esmail
Ontario Dental Association Proficiency Award

Jessica Gold
Association of Prosthodontists of Ontario Award

Po Cheng Lin
Academy of Operative Dentistry Award

Amirsalar Mofidi
Canadian Academy of Periodontology Award

Kimberly Ngai
Dentistry Class of 1975 Scholarship

Nicole Ostro
International College of Dentists Award

Martin Reiss
Schulich Dentistry Prize for Professionalism and Ethics

Jaskaran Takhar
Elgin Dental Association Award in Oral Surgery

Fuad Tanha
Sunstar/G.U.M. Clinical Proficiency Award

Class of 2017

Jennifer Archibald
Centennial Orthodontic and Paediatric Dentistry Award
Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario Scholarship Second Year

Oies Hussein
Toronto Crown & Bridge Study Club Award

Peter Kim
American Dental Society Anesthesiology Award

Vida Lam
Laura Stakiw Memorial Award

Elizabeth Waknine
Dr. Donald MacLean Award in Oral Radiology

Class of 2018

Sameen Abrar
Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario Scholarship First Year

David Feere
Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario Dean’s Award of Excellence

Carolyn Karr
Toronto Crown & Bridge Study Club Award

David Omole
Dr. Sam Ioannidis Memorial Award

Sadia Tasleem
General Medicine Award

Please enjoy a photo gallery highlighting special moments from the Fall Awards Reception. Can't see the slideshow below? Click here.