Dr. Steven MacDonald appointed as Chair/Chief, Division of Orthopaedic Surgery

Dr. Steven MacDonald has been appointed as Chair/Chief, Division of Orthopaedic Surgery and as the inaugural J.C. Kennedy Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery effective May 1, 2014 for a five-year term.

Dr. MacDonald has served as the Acting Chair/Chief since Dr. Roth’s unexpected passing in February 2013. Dr. MacDonald’s experienced leadership brought stability and focus to the Division of Orthopaedic Surgery during a challenging period.

Dr. MacDonald completed medical school at the University of Toronto and residency at Western University, followed by fellowships in Adult Joint Reconstructive Surgery at Western and in Chicago, Illinois, as well as in Adult Hip Reconstructive Surgery in Bern, Switzerland.

He joined the Department of Surgery in 1996 as an Assistant Professor. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 2002 and to full Professor in 2008.

Dr. MacDonald has served as the Site Chief of Surgery at University Hospital, London Health Sciences Centre since 2005; and as Site Chief of Orthopaedic Surgery at University Hospital since 2001.

He is nationally and internationally known for his research in hip and knee surgery. He has published over 150 articles and book chapters in the peer-reviewed literature and has presented his research over 350 times at meetings around the globe.

Dr. MacDonald has been the recipient of many prestigious awards, including the John Charnley ward from the Hip Society (twice), the Frank Stinchfield Award from the Hip Society, the Insall Award from the Knee Society, and the Founders Medal from the Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society (twice).

Dr. MacDonald is currently the President of the Canadian Orthopaedic Arthroplasty Society; the president of the North American Knee Society, Chairman of the North American Muller Foundation, Chair of the Subcommittee of Joint Educational Ventures for the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons, a Legacy Board Member of the Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation, and Chair of the Membership Committee for the International Hip Society.