Announcing the 2013 Awards of Excellence Winners

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 Dean's Awards of Excellence and Schulich Awards of Excellence. The number of nominations submitted for the 2013 Awards of Excellence speaks volumes about the talent and passion our faculty and staff have for the success of the School and our learners. The various committees responsible for deciding the winners had quite the task at hand as so many excellent nominations were received.

The winners, listed below by category, will be honoured at the 2013 Celebration of Excellence, being held May 22 at the Great Hall, Somerville House. Tickets can be purchased by clicking here.

Please join us in congratulating the outstanding recipients of this year's Awards of Excellence.

The 2013 winners are:

Schulich Excellence in Education Awards (Undergraduate)

Schulich Educator Awards

Dr. Rob Gratton, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Dr. Dwayne Jackson, Department of Medical Biophysics

Dr. Michael Sanatani, Department of Oncology

Schulich Excellence in Education Awards (Graduate/Postgraduate)

Schulich Leader Award

Dr. James Gregor, Department of Medicine

Schulich Educator Awards

Dr. Jerry Battista, Department of Medical Biophysics

Dr. Marina Salvadori, Department of Paediatrics

Dr. Mithu Sen, Department of Medicine

Schulich Awards for Excellence in Teaching/Distinguished Commitments/Outstanding Service

Faculty & Staff Development
Deb Tieszer, Strategic Technology Commons

Continuing Medical Education

Dr. Syed Naveed Rizvi, Department of Psychiatry

Continuing Dental Education
Dr. Walter Teteruck, Dentistry

Schulich Award for Excellence for Faculty in Distributed Sites

Dr. Ken Milne, Department of Medicine

Dean's Awards of Excellence for Faculty


Dr. John Denstedt, Department of Surgery

Dr. Eric Winquist, Department of Oncology

Dr. Gilles Lajoie, Department of Biochemistry

Team Award
Dentistry Curriculum Team - Dr. Richard Bohay, Brenda Davis, Kim Scott and Mari Long

Junior Faculty

Dr. Zia Khan, Department of Pathology

Dr. Ruby Grewal, Department of Surgery

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. David Spence, Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences

Dean's Awards of Excellence for Staff

Judy Hicken, Undergraduate Medical Education

Cathy Thorpe, Department of Family Medicine

Dinah Frank, Department of Surgery

Vicki Douvalis, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Team Award
Kathy Boon and Joan Estabrooks, Basic Medical Sciences