Physiology & Pharmacology Chair renewed

Thursday, December 17, 2009

We are delighted to announce the renewal of Dr. Jane Rylett in her role as Chair of the Department of Physiology & Pharmacology, at the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry. Dr. Rylett's second term will commence January 1, 2010 and will continue until June 30, 2016.

Dr. Rylett is a molecular neurobiologist and one of Canada's leading Alzheimer's disease researchers recognized nationally and internationally for her contributions. She was one of the founders of the Graduate Program in Neurosciences at Western and served as its Director from 1994 to 2000. In 2005, she was appointed as Chair of the Department of Physiology & Pharmacology, and is also Co-Director of the Molecular Brain Research Group at Robarts Research Institute.

She has received numerous research awards, including the Claude P. Beaubien Award from the Alzheimer Society of Canada and the AltaPharm Senior Scientist Award from the Pharmacological Society of Canada. Her research has been funded by several agencies, including Canadian Institute of Health Research (CIHR), Alzheimer Society of Canada, Alzheimer's Association [USA], Ontario Mental Health Foundation and Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation.

Dr. Rylett was recently appointed by CIHR Governing Council as Chair of the Institute Advisory Board for the CIHR Institute of Aging. In 2005, she was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal by the Governor General of Canada for contributions made through volunteer work related to Alzheimer's disease and the aging population.

In addition to her research, Dr. Rylett is a dedicated teacher to undergraduate and graduate students and a supportive mentor to her colleagues. She was recognized with the Dean's Award of Excellence from the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry in 2005 for her research and teaching accomplishments.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Rylett in her second term as Chair of the Department of Physiology & Pharmacology.

-Dean Carol Herbert