Silcox-Fellows Awards recognize long-time mentors

Thursday, November 12, 2009

On October 26th, the Medical Student Support Team in conjunction with Student Affairs, gave out its first awards to recognize physician mentors who had served for five and 10 years. The 10- year awards were named after Jim Silcox and Fraser Fellows who were leaders in the development of this program.

Those recognized for mentoring for 10-plus years included:

Praful Chandarana

Michael Rieder

Jatinder Takhar

Victor Han

Paul Cooper (20 years)

Dr. Paul Cooper receives his award from Dr. Jim Silcox and Dr. Fraser Fellows.

Those mentoring for 5-9 years received a certificate. They included

Dave Dixon
Gerard M. Guiraudon
Barbara Lent
Claudio Martin
Craig Campbell
Tim Carey
Lois K. Champion
Raj Harricharan
Carol Herbert
Mandar Jog
Norman Muirhead
Sandra Northcott
Janet Pope
Chellappa Rajgopal
Lisa Shepherd
Sydney Sukerman
Bhadresh Surti
Ivan Iglesias
Kellie Leitch
Varinder Dua
Patrick Teefy
Christopher Watling
Patrick Luke
Bill Moote