Dean Herbert appointed Medical Hall of Fame board chair

Monday, January 26, 2009

Announcement from the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

The Board of Directors of The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) is pleased to announce the recent appointment of Board Chair, Dr. Carol Herbert, Dean of the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry at The University of Western Ontario. Dr. Herbert succeeds past Chair Dr. David Hawkins of Ottawa who has taken on a medical assignment in Saudi Arabia.

With nine and a half years of experience on the CMHF Board, Dr. Herbert leads a team of 16 prominent health and business professionals from across Canada - a group dedicated to future medical excellence through the celebration of Canada's medical heroes.

A hero herself, Dr. Herbert is an academic leader, professor, editor, researcher, policymaker, advocate for women's and children's health, and a pioneer in the provision of services for sexually abused children.

Among numerous prestigious awards, Dr. Herbert is the winner of the 1997 W. Victor Johnston Medal for lifetime contribution to the College of Family Physicians of Canada and of the 2005 Ian McWhinney Award for Family Medicine Education. She was a recipient of a Queen's Jubilee Medal in 2002. In 2006, Dr. Herbert was awarded the Association of American Medical Colleges' Women in Medicine Leadership Development Award, and in 2007 she received her second YMCA Woman of Excellence Award (London and Vancouver).

To find out more about The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, visit

Janet Tufts, Executive Director

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame