PODS Team - UH Acute Medicine wins the Award for Innovation

Congratulations to GIM faculty members Andrew Appleton and Erin Spicer who, along with the PODS team, won the 2018 President’s Award for Innovation. The President’s Award for Innovation recognizes an individual or team who has demonstrated innovation capabilities that have made significant advances to the organization.

The Patient Oriented Discharge Summary (PODS) Team (Phase 1) – UH Acute Medicine team created a tool to allow discharged patients to communicate with their multidisciplinary health care team from home. The tool allows a patient to view their discharge details in one place, including follow-up appointment information, contacts and resources, patient education materials, and notes from their care providers.


Recipients of the 2018 President's Awards pose for a group photo with the LHSC President/CEO Dr. Paul Woods at the ceremony on December 14th.

GIM faculty members Andrew Appleton (left) and Erin Spicer (not pictured) are members of the PODS team who accepted the President's Award for Innovation.