Research Awards

Writing on a test tube

The following are among the numerous awards given for recognition of excellence in biomedical/health research. For details and specific deadlines, please consult the relevant website. For a full listing of research awards, please visit the Western Research.

For information on awards for excellence in teaching, see the Teaching Awards page.

Announcements regarding calls for nominations for external awards are listed in the minutes of the monthly meeting of the Executive Committee of Schulich Council (ECSC)


In-Bev Baillet Latour Health Prize
Deadline: September

Gairdner Wightman Award
Deadline: October

Honorary Degree
Deadline: October

President's Medal for Distinguished Service Nominations
Deadline: October

MaRS Premier Summit Award in Medical Research
Deadline: November


Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, Medical Research Awards Program
Deadline: February

Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation (CSCI) Henry Friesen Award Lecture
Deadline: January

CIHR - Michael Smith Prize in Health Research
Deadline: December & January

Faculty Scholar Award
Deadline: January

Hellmuth Prize for Achievement in Research
Deadline: January

IADR Lion Dental Research Award
Deadline: January


Canada Research Chairs
Deadline: April

Canadian Academy of Health Sciences
Deadline: March

Marion Spencer Fay Award

McGill University, Louis and Artur Lucian Award for Research in Circulatory Diseases
Deadline: March

NSERC Herzberg Medal
Deadline: March

The Royal Society of Canada Awards
Deadline: March

Royal Society of Canada, McLaughlin Medal
Deadline: March

Schulich Clinician Scientist Program
Deadline: March

Western University Research on Teaching Grant
Deadline: Spring


Canada Council for the Arts, Killam Prizes
Deadline: June

National Research Council (NRC), Steacie Institute for Natural Sciences
Deadline: June

The Second Cheung On Tak International Award for Outstanding Contribution to Chinese Medicine
Deadline: July

TBA Deadlines

Early Researcher Award (PREA)

Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Centre, Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research

Ontario March of Dimes Jonas Salk Award

Resident Research Career Development Program

Robarts Research Institute, J. Allyn Taylor Prize in Medicine

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, Royal College Medal Awards (Medicine, Surgery)

Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation: Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction