The sculpture, 'Commitment to Professionalism', was created by scupltor J.A. Fligel and features high-relief representations of eight honoured physicians.

The piece, made possible by gifts and pledges collected by the Medicine Class of 1966, was created and installed to represent professionalism in the field of Medicine.

In 1966, the Class was known as the University of Western Ontario, Faculty of Medicine Class of 1966.